The will to write…and other novel stuff


clouds and the dark

Planning to write is not writing. Outlining…researching…talking to people about what your doing, none of that is writing. Writing is writing. – E.L. Doctorow

Last night I let my wife do some editing with my story. For her day job, she writes and designs programs for a credit card company. She checks and double-checks things before they go out to the reps dealing with the customers. She has been helping me with my grammar, punctuation and other things that need fixing for a while. Last night she went over one the chapters that she had not read and was impressed with how far my writing as well as my grammar, punctuation etc. have come.

I usually let her review things after I have just written them so they are fresh in my mind. Recently I have not been able to with my output. I have written six chapters since she last reviewed everything. I have been moving fast on the book. When I went to let her read the chapter, I thought it was only two chapters since she read last, When it was actually six. I have proud that things have been moving fast, though I wonder if it will last or I will hit the wall at some point. It would be wonderful if I could keep going at this pace, I am not sure if 3-4k a day is good pace or not. I am at the 40k mark and still going. My magic number is 95k. When I reach that number and I feel will there is more to tell than I will go until I feel that I need to stop. Once I have reached, what I think may be the end of the story I will stop, go back, revise, and rewrite what needs fixing.

Until I reach that point or find that I need a break (after the last rewrite I stepped away for a month), I will take it and revise with fresh eyes. While waiting I have other projects that I am thinking about finishing next. This book feels like there may be more than one book to finish the story, though I will write it as though there is a door open for it. I will try not to make it obvious that there is more to the story. However, that is not always under the writer’s control.

Until dusk,

BB_Baker

This entry was posted in novels, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

