I wrote a book this year, what have you done lately?


Dreams are illustrations… from the book your soul is writing about you.
Marsha Norman

Was reading my Facebook posts this morning and realized that I finally finished writing my book. It is only the third draft and there is still a lot to do. I knew last week when I finished writing it . It was not until this morning it hit me. I have finished something I have wanted to do since high school. It is only seventy-nine thousand words now, but that is a lot more than it was in the second draft. I was doing some editing (grammar, punctuation, and spelling) last night. Even then with my eyes getting tired from looking at the screen it did not hit me.

Knowing where I was last year with the story and finally finishing it last week, with all the crazy things that happened last week. Today I finally realized I have done something most people only talk about. This is only another step in getting published. I know what the odds are and I don’t care. A family member who is already published told me to forget the odds. She did it when people told her the odds, and her book is selling really well. She chose to ignore all the people telling her it would not happen. That is what I am doing, ignoring the people who said I could not do it.

I wrote a book this year, what have you done lately?

BB_Baker

This entry was posted in books, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I wrote a book this year, what have you done lately?

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention I wrote a book this year, what have you done lately? « Struggling Writer -- Topsy.com

  2. Paula says:

    Love this!! yes you can ask people what have you done this year.. You have had a year like no other, and you have succeeded.. Despite all the stress… Congratulations!! I am so proud of you.. What a great honor it is for me to call you my son!!

Leave a Reply

