Lurking in the dark


A man must dream a long time in order to act with grandeur, and dreaming is nursed in darkness.Jean Genet

Their taunting gaze and rows of teeth staring at me through dull cow eyes. The softness of their stare does not ring true to their motives. The faded and lost, the beaten and downtrodden. The panic in their voices, I hear it every night. It is ringing in my ears like a child in the night. The bloodthirsty scream, the plastic dream of their existence.

I know not why they gather in the farthest reaches of my mind. I see them, my demons staring, prodding me to write what they tell me. Telling me that things will be alright, their gaze pulling the words from my inner sanctum. Breathing as I breath, drinking in the light of my soul. The never-ending creature lurking in the dark parts of my soul. I write to satisfy and to subjugate them. This wicked dance has been with me forever freeing my soul. Setting my heart to do what I want, settling for nothing less than what I choose.

BB_Baker

This entry was posted in books, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

