Figuring out the rest of it


A man is not old until regrets take the place of dreams.
John Barrymore

When the time came to complete my book I was left wondering what to do now that I have finished a novel. Having my cousin in my corner throughout this has been a blessing. Having her guide me when I felt lost, tell me what sites to use and what sites not to use has helped immensely. Having someone believe in you when you feel like giving up, that is what family is about. I learn every day about writing from her. By reading her blogs and seeing how she interacts with her readers I have learned more than I can use, at least for now.

I have begun the slow process of writing a synopsis and a query letter. These two things along with my cousin and my wife being my beta readers will help me. I understand how busy my cousin is in the next few months with touring for her new book. That is why I am so appreciative of her reading my book and dissecting it for me. I am looking forward to her advice about it. I know that it is not perfect, that is why I am having her and my wife read it. My cousin is a published author and my wife’s day job consists of fixing other people’s grammar and spelling issues for a big company. I have two of the best women on my side helping me get to where I want. Thank you both for everything you have done to help me along my way. Not sure I would have made it this far without your encouragement.

I have put things in perspective of what I have done in the last two years. I have learned from my mistakes, made difficult choices I needed to. I have done this at least initially to put someone’s voice to rest. Now I do this for my family. My wife and kids are my entire world. Those who know me know how much they mean to me. Ready for the next step in the journey.

I am waiting for my time. Waiting for my turn, until then I will figuring out the rest of it as I keep going.

BB_Baker

This entry was posted in books, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Figuring out the rest of it

  1. adsimons says:

    Good luck! And if you ever need another set of eyes, hit me up. ^_^ Happy writing!

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Figuring out the rest of it « Struggling Writer -- Topsy.com

  3. Paula says:

    I wish the world for you my son.

  4. paulastewart55 says:

    So proud of you Brian, every day you show how amazing you are.. You have an awesome gift!

Leave a Reply

