When to start the next WiP?


Writing is the only thing that, when I do it, I don’t feel I should be doing something else.
Gloria Steinem

Since finishing my last book I have tried to figure out when to start the next one. Do I start immediately, or do I wait until I finish the revisions. Have some great story ideas running around through my head. A couple of them I really like, one in particular my wife wants me to finish. The other ones will take longer to finish than the last one.

This is the point when the title of the blog rings true. Struggling writer is something I liked when I began the book. I was really struggling to figure things out. I was new to devoting so much time to one endeavor and and had trouble focusing. Now that I am centered I am having trouble deciding what step do I take next. The last WiP, the one I just finished is open and could have more to it than what I finished. I am not sure I want to devote a lot of time to it now. Not knowing if the book will be picked up is the major reason for this. The other story ideas have nothing to do with the world I created in the recently finished work. One of them is a very large project. However, I have a lot of notes, world creation and character development done for that one. The other is something that is much closer to my heart and something that only my wife has read.

When do I start writing again?

BB_Baker

This entry was posted in books, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to When to start the next WiP?

  1. adsimons says:

    As soon as you feel you could get the words out. This allows you to be able to take a look at your finished project with fresh eyes. What I mean by that is if your writing mind is focused on a new project, you are more able to step back and really see what readers will see in your first book. Well, it’s like that for me anyway. Good luck and Happy Writing!

Leave a Reply

