Expanding my aptitude in the art of writing


Two blue moons over a winter fieldFantasy allows you bend the world and the situation to more clearly focus on the moral aspects of what’s happening. In fantasy you can distill life down to the essence of your story.
Terry Goodkind

I have been an unpublished writer since middle school. A realization that struck me the other day. I have written stories, or told them for most of my life. I am now 34 and am approaching where I want to be with my writing. I have always been fascinated with vampires, those that read this blog now that, or at least they do now. When I recently finished my book I thought long about what to write next. Do I do what’s popular in the industry, Y/A, Graphic novels and supernatural romance. The last one could be termed Y/A but who’s counting. I have tried writing Y/A, more to stretch my legs and see what I can do than actually trying.

On my hard drive I have three or four novels that are in a few stages of completion. two of which are very personal and emotional for me to write, another is a second book for the one I just finished. The last is something that no one, at least of my close friends would be expecting from me. I am trying to find new things to write, different things I have written. I want to try new genres, write something that makes people think and do something amazing. I am sure that is what every writer wants, to be noticed.

Being noticed is not my reason for writing, my reasons are many that same as any writer. I have felt since the first time I began that this is what I should be doing. I have had missteps along the way, military didn’t go the way I wanted it to. Fate is what happens when you are busy deciding what to do with your life. Fate fell in my lap, but I call her my wife.

There is another story on my hard drive, something I have more notes, character bios, world creation stuff, maps and other such stuff. This story came to me for no other reason than I was looking at a flower. The story developed from that. I am leaning towards the last story now. It is big in scale, like Steven Erikson and Tolkien. I never imagined a story like this would come from my head. I grew up reading Tom Clancy, Dale Brown and all the other 80’s techno-thriller writers. I only read The Hobbit in the last 6 years. I am not sure what to write, but I am willing to try something else. Horror writing is fun, creating monsters and making the hairs on your neck stand up when your reading, that is fun. Fun is not exactly what I am aiming for with this new one. I want to write something that will make me learn as a writer, something that will stretch my mind and make me think a bit.

If I undertake this one it will take longer. That I don’t care about, I want to learn and get better at writing. Length of writing is not what matters. Finishing something, and being proud of it, that is what I want. Getting better at something is what we are all here for anyways. I truly feel if I do not learn something new every day, it is a wasted day.

BB_Baker

This entry was posted in writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

