Finding my way


I still find each day too short for all the thoughts I want to think, all the walks I want to take, all the books I want to read, and all the friends I want to see.
John Burroughs

In November 2009 I began to finish my first book. I had all the details down and something did not feel right. I tried to write the story and nothing would come out. I sat this way until January 2010. I decided after a month away from the story I might not be finishing it. I began to write another story. I made notes, maps, character bios and bunch of other stuff. At the end of February I stopped writing the other book and began to write the one I began with. Everything went great, I had my moments of self doubt just like any other unpublished writer does.

I finally finished the book the end of July 2010. It took me over 2 years from the idea to the competed manuscript. A lot of that time was spent in self-doubt. A year ago I learned that a cousin of mine was being published. I was ecstatic for her. After reading her book I understood why it was picked up by an agent and publisher. Still after finishing mine the doubt is there. The belief that it won’t do well or won’t be picked up. I thought the reasons would be because of the content. It is a vampire horror novel in the tradition of Anne Rice. I love the story and the characters in the story, but some part of me says I won’t be published. I have fought this off to the best of my ability.

I began to write something else while the finished manuscript is being dissected by my cousin and my wife. Both of them are very good with grammar, my wife’s job requires it. The new book is from the notes I wrote down in January 2010. It is something I never expected to fall in my lap as a story. It is very different that anything I have written before. It also takes my mind off my wife and cousin dissecting my manuscript. I am still on my journey and will continue for a long time.

BB_Baker

This entry was posted in books, Life, novels, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

