Tumbling down the rabbit hole, lost in writer’s block


“The only cure for writer’s block is insomnia.” ~Merit Antares

I have been stuck somewhere I swore did not exist, writer’s block hell. For the last two weeks I have been trying, with little to no success, of beginning a new book. The problem is that I can’t write. I have taken days off from writing. I have tried writing something else only to hate what I wrote. Right now my finished manuscript is in the hands of my trusted beta readers. They are more editors than beta readers. One is a published author, the other is my wife. I began reading my wife’s copies the other day. I decided that was a bad idea, I will wait until my other reader is finished. Please take your time with it Michelle, you are busy with your family and hectic tour schedule, so please take your time.

This rabbit hole I hide in has no words in it, no sentences and is a place that I have not been. Another author told my cousin this – “Writers Block is really just a signal that you need to step back and take a closer look at where you’re story’s headed”. – I am not sure what is wrong with the manuscript in question, only that something is not working and it is very irritating. With those words being said I have to take a break for a while and read something, anything to get me away from the story. I am beginning Brandon Sanderson’s new novel – “The Way of Kings”. He is an amazing Fantasy writer. Robert Jordan chose him before his passing to finish the “Wheel of Time” series. I am looking forward to climbing out the rabbit hole and getting more words on the page, until then I will settle down with a good book and some Earl Grey.

BB_Baker

This entry was posted in books, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tumbling down the rabbit hole, lost in writer’s block

  1. Pingback: World Wide News Flash

Leave a Reply

