Gamer parent bringing up a gamer kid.


Let me give some back story for this before I get started. I have been playing video games since the old Atari 2600 and Atari 5200. I have played on almost every system at one time or another. The original NES being one of my favorites. I still love Zelda. We (me and my wife) had a son in 2004. Who learned from a young age that playing video games is okay to do, as long as you don’t spend all day doing it.

My son has a Nintendo DSi and in our house we have all 3 popular gaming systems, I prefer the 360 for a lot of games. The Wii is used more for family game night which is usually on Saturday. The PS3 is not used as much for games as it is for a Blu-Ray player.

Me and my wife also play MMORPG’s. We have played The Matrix Online, Star Wars Galaxies, Warhammer Online, Age of Conan, Aion and World of Warcraft. Most of our time has been spent on World of Warcraft (WoW). Our son has seen us playing this game since he was born. Recently he has been asking if he could play too. We have been resistant to this only because we know how must of a time drain and MMO can be.

We do set certain rules for his gaming though. His homework must be done before he plays. His room must be clean. He is only allowed an hour of gaming a day. While watching him play (he is 6) I noticed something. It helps him solve problems, shows him how to use a keyboard. I never noticed any of these things while playing. Me and my wife do not fit the typical stereotype. I am in decent physical shape, my wife as well. I have a day job as a bartender. My wife works for a large bank company. Other than our gaming time, which has brought us all closer together we are exactly like everyone else. Trying to make a living without being bored.

BB_Baker

This entry was posted in writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gamer parent bringing up a gamer kid.

  1. paula stewart says:

    And your son is teaching his grandparents how to play the WII… LOL

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Gamer parent bringing up a gamer kid. « Struggling Writer -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

