Back to the 90’s


I grew up, became a man, turned 21 in the 90’s. It is the decade that I most closely relate to when it comes to music and life. With this decade of wonder I watched the economy soar(we miss you Bill), music revolt against the mainstream ( I miss you Kurt) and learned about what kinds of stains do not come out (again we miss you Bill). My current thoughts about the generation I grew up in the aptly titled Gen X. Is that the men grew up mostly raised by their mothers. The fathers were absent, for one reason or another. I graduated from High School in 1994, the same year Kurt Cobain died.

When I wrote in High School I listened to a lot of Nirvana, Pearl Jam and other “Grunge” bands. I love the music of the 90’s, it was better than the pop trash that is out now. I look back fondly of my life in the 90’s. I lived with my father early in the 90’s until moving in with my mom and step-dad. We eventually left Utah, and the wonderful mountains for the desolation of Southern Wyoming. At least that is the way I looked at it then. Now Wyoming is something different to me. It where I learned about life, had my first real kiss, fell in and out of love with a few girls I dated in High School. Eventually losing my virginity, which seemed to take forever.

The decade ended with my marriage to my wonderful wife. She has been a real trooper when it comes to my writing, always encouraging me, never telling me it was bad, even though I knew it was. I remember listening to Nirvana for the first time and thinking this is different. After listening to the lyrics, yes in the 90’s lyrics meant something. Now it is mostly trash with a beat and auto-tuned to death. In the 90’s I learned more about what I wanted to be when I “grew” up. I always wanted to be a writer. I knew one day that I would write something good. I am only sad it took this long for it to happen. I am going back to the 90’s, learning about who I was then, and why I am the man, father and husband I have become.

I am always a writer, whether it is when I am making a drink at the bar (my day job), or when I playing with my kids and watching them grow up. I learn about my imagination and that it has no limits from my son, he is my inspiration above all other things.

Bri

This entry was posted in books, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

