Giving some credit to my wife for my writing


Being deeply loved by someone gives you strength, while loving someone deeply gives you courage.
Lao Tzu

Lately I have been sick, physically sick. Unable to write anything I have revised some of the new material. Writing is writing, even if it is rewriting. I was able to let my wife read some of the new WiP (Work in Progress). I usually don’t let her see anything until I am done with a good amount of it, this time I felt like I had done enough rewrites to call for letting her see some of it. She had all positive comments and said she enjoyed it.

My wife has been very understanding during my writing. She knows there are times when I will not come to bed at the same time as her and that I must focus on the writing. She understands me and knows how I get when something needs to be written. Whether it is when I first get home from my day job at 7:00 p.m. or when I am up until 2:00 a.m. she is always there for me to let me do my thing. She takes care of the kids when I need time to write or when I just need a break from writing to decompress.

I don’t give her enough credit for all the things she does for my writing. The new material is something different for me, and she understands that, she does not judge me on my past work, she knows that once I am published things will be different. I made a deal with her a few months ago. Once I get published, regardless of whether it is a big advance or something that doesn’t make it so I can quit my day job, she knows it will be her turn to do her thing.

Her thing is visual art, she paints and draws in many formats. The picture of the flower in the earlier post is one of hers, done specifically for the new WiP. I am not sure where I would be without her help, her shoulder to cry on when I get a bad critique or when she is there just because she is herself. My wife has pushed me more than any other person to pursue my writing. She helps me when I need it and sometimes, not often, she tells me when something is just bad and I should stop writing it. Without giving her credit for what she does for me, our kids, my writing  my life would not seem as easy as it looks to the outside world.

As I was telling someone the other day, “If you want something, really want it, you find time for it. If you don’t want it that bad it’s not worth trying”

Bri

This entry was posted in books, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

