Taking steps forward, looking in on myself


Being unable to make decisions on my writing has always been the hardest thing for me. My problem was making things happen. Giving up on my writing is something I used to do. Having the courage to move forward is something I never thought I would do. Taking steps forward is what I never did, doing the things I should, taking time to learn the craft of writing, reading and more reading. Right now I am reading “Game of Thrones”.  I love the way the story unfolds, the way it’s intertwined. The politics in this book is what I love more than anything.

Writing begins with the word, always with the word. This is something I have known but ignored for a long time.  The mix of words through a paragraph  makes things work. Over the last three years of writing I have read  Stoker, Hemingway, Tolkien, Robert Jordan, Faulkner, Lovecraft and Richard Matheson. Learning small thing from each. Faulkner is great at descriptions and dialogue. Jordan is amazing at details. These and others have taught me more than any book on writing. Reading is the gateway to learning how to write effectively.

It took me longer than it should have to realize that reading everything you can is as important as hitting the keys on the keyboard. You learn little things from every writer you read, sometimes small things sometime not.  I have small epiphany’s every day when I am reading. I will read a passage in a book and see something written in a way I never thought of.  I will write what I learned in a small journal, I go through a lot of Moleskin journals.  But I learn something every time I read a new book. The next book I am reading after “Game of Thrones” is “Speak” by Laurie Halse Anderson.  It is a book I heard about through my cousin’s blog and after reading about it in other places knew it was something I should read.  Learning from reading is the best way to learn a topic, whether it is about some far off land or about life as a teenager.  Today I took another step forward in my journey. My last finished Manuscript was 82k words. I am at 20k+ for my new WiP and I am enjoying learning about my characters as much as I hope you one day enjoy reading about them.  Please if you want something in life, take the step forward to do it.

Bri

This entry was posted in fantasy, novels, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

