In the heart


Easy reading is damn hard writing. ~Nathaniel Hawthorne

Upon beginning a journey you should pack for where you are going. If you are going to Alaska, pack something warm. It is no different when preparing for something new in writing. Beginning this journey made me realize a few things about myself and about others. I discovered my belief/faith/philosophy is what keeps me going. I never thought about it before in the way I have while beginning the revisions. Choosing to take the path less traveled and trudge through the mud and dirt of my life made me glad I am the strong person I am.

I believed when I was a kid I would be someone famous or do something that would make me famous. I stopped believing that for a long time. My life went a long its path, I never thought about doing something that others didn’t do. It was not until a friend of mine told me to start writing again, that was in late 2000. He told me to write about vampires and the things that I was interested in. It took me ten years to realize that he was right. I am doing something I want to do, not something everyone believes I should do. I began by writing poetry again, poorly I might add. I wrote short stories, mostly dark short stories the ones I liked to read as a child.

It was not until 2004 with the birth of my son I started reading books on writing and trying to learn more about the craft. Reading about writing can get very boring and I fell in love with certain books, “On Writing” by Stephen King is one of my favorites. I also began to read a lot more which helps more than anything but doing the writing.

The novel I am working on falls into line with the stories by Anne Rice that loved reading as a teenager. It takes vampires back to their earliest beginnings. Back to the creation of the myth. Before Dracula and Vlad Tepes, to the earliest known stories of vampires in history. Doing the research was fascinating, knowing how far it goes back amazed me. Creating this world is one of the funnest things I have done, also of the hardest. Now that I have begun the first leg of revisions, with help from someone that is already published, I have started learning more about my faults in my writing and where I need to work harder. I am a better person now than I was ten years ago, getting out of someone’s shadow helped that. I know who I am and what I want to do with my life.

Bri

This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

