Don’t settle!


There is no passion to be found playing small – in settling for a life that is less than the one you are capable of living.
Nelson Mandela

Looking at what a person has done in their life is like looking into their soul. You see everything they wanted, everything they tried to do for others. Reaching for something that is meaningful is the hardest thing I have done. Doing something that I want to do for the rest of my life is what I want. Not going to work to the same job everyday, that is not what I want out of life. Striving for something great is what I want. Taking lessons from others and what they have done. Reading books on how to make the story better is what I have needed. I found so many books that have helped me in this process. Narrowing it down is hard, if you want to see the list go to my Goodreads page.

Fighting for what I want to do with all the things that go on in life is the difficult part. I have a day job, forty hours a week, two kids, a wife and other responsibilities. Sometime I think of the task ahead and look in the mirror at myself and wonder am I doing. I can’t be published, that is when the little voice in my head says, “You have come this far, why stop now?”

Why is everything black or white with some people. You either do it or you don’t, there is not in between. When it comes to the future no one should ever settle for less than what they want. If it comes to doing things to make your dreams come true, no matter the obstacle, or doing something else, conquer the obstacle and move forward, never settle for anything but what you want.

If the events in Egypt have taught us anything do not settle for anything other than what you want. This is in politics as well as being a human being and doing what you believe is right as a human and as a race. There is always a bully, whether that bully is a government or the voice in your head telling you that you can’t do something, don’t listen to it, don’t settle!

When someone asks where I find the time to do the things I do; blogging, writing, playing with my kids, having time with my wife and doing a day job, my only response is we all do what we must. I have taken steps to do things I want as well as the things I want to do with my wife and kids. Sometimes that means we don’t take a vacation or we don’t buy a movie that any of us want, in the end don’t settle!

Bri

This entry was posted in books, fiction, Life, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Don’t settle!

  1. My brother, reading your story is like reading mine…

  2. paulastewart55 says:

    Don’t ever let anyone tell you, you can’t.. If you don’t pursue your dreams how will you know?? Honored!!!

Leave a Reply

