Outlines, who needs and outline?


A word is not the same with one writer as with another.  One tears it from his guts.  The other pulls it out of his overcoat pocket.  ~Charles Peguy

NO outlines when writing, are you nuts, how will I know what the characters should do? Let them tell you, that’s how.

For the longest time I had used an outline when writing, a practice that a lot of writers use, one which I started merely because of that. But, I discovered I write better without one.

Everyone is different, some people can write perfectly well with plotting everything out: storyline, characters names, races, religions and places. I get so bogged down in world building I get bored.

I don’t consider it free form writing, that implies that I am not paying attention to grammar, punctuation or a specific topic.

I prefer the name Controlled Free Form. With this I can narrow it down to a specific thing. In that it is stream of consciousness but it is not all over the place. I wrote my first novel this way, and since I began writing this way again I started writing better.

Now I am not sure how many people write this way, you know without a script or outline before them, but it works for me. In two weeks I have gone from 0 words on the page to 20k done for a new manuscript.

This new way of writing has changed my belief in my writing and my confidence over all. I hope I am not the only one who writes this way.  I let the story lead me, not the other way around. I know it sounds weird but that is the only way to describe it.

Letting the character talk through me (do I sound psychotic yet?) I know that it works for me and I don’t believe I am the only one that doesn’t plot everything out before I write the story. Of course this will only work on first draft, afterward you will have to add, subtract and change things

I’m not saying you shouldn’t know about the topic you’re writing, just don’t over analyze it. You should write things down as you write them or after the writing session, names especially.

Bri

This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

