Time well spent with my daughter at Borders


When I heard the news that Borders was going to be closing their doors, I was heartbroken.

Nearly every Tuesday since my daughter could walk we went to Borders. She is now nearly two and I will miss taking her there.

I would get a coffee and an apple tart and she would get a Mighty Mango Naked Juice and a blueberry muffin. The first time I bought it for her I forgot to dilute it and paid for it in the bathroom later.

It would be our ritual, just her and I. My son who is now seven, we had or rituals but this one with my daughter felt different.

I see so many dads that are not in their kids lives because of one reason or another. My wife and I are married and our daughter is special for a number of reasons. That you can read about here.

Thank you to the employees of our Borders for making my daughter and I feel special when we came by. Done with a hello or a, nice to see you again. But every time it felt special for us. I will miss all of you and our Tuesdays.

Bri

This entry was posted in family, Life, Parenting, writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

