Why You Should Be Using Your Inner Demons To Your Advantage.


For Darkness Friday I have a topic that every person can relate to. The subject of inner demons is something everyone has to deal with at some point. Enjoy the post.

*

“An artist is a creature driven by demons. He doesn’t know why they choose him and he’s usually too busy to wonder why.” – William Faulkner

Demons are something that plagues any artist, regardless of their medium. They are our inspiration or they are what draws us to that medium.

Writing has always been something to take me away from life and its demons. My demons are something I draw from. Knowing that my demons are different from my wife’s is what makes them mine.

None of us are pure souls, we all have our skeletons in the closet. Some of us can pull them out and make them dance while others have different means to control them. Our demons whether they are from things in our childhood, bad relationships or something that traumatized us as children. Most of us draw from that well of demons to pursue our art.

I have written many stories about my demons, most would know them if they had read them. Others stash them in the attic of their mind to keep them hidden from view.

I say let the demons out and make them your own. Our demons and the things that hide in the deep chasms of our minds keep us sane when they appear.

When they appear in our art we may forget they are there or we may see them later, but they are there whether we notice them or not.

I see my demons and I having started to acknowledge them when I see them on the page, I stare them and whisper to myself, “there you are, I was wondering when you would stick your evil head out.”

“And if you gaze for long into an abyss, the abyss gazes also into you.” Nietzsche

Letting go of the demons after you have done your art for the day is the hardest part of art. Holding on to your demons, letting them push you and prod you and not the other way around is not the way to go about it.

The conscious mind may be compared to a fountain playing in the sun and falling back into the great subterranean pool of subconscious from which it rises. – Sigmund Freud

Bri

What are you doing to use your inner demons to your advantage? Answer in the comment.

This entry was posted in Art, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

