Dealing with anger in an angry world


Today is Wednesday which means that it is a day for dipping into the “Well”of life. This post is a different one than I have done so far. It is one that I have dealt with for a while and continue to deal with as do we all.

Happy “Well” Wednesday!

*

Anger is an acid that can do more harm to the vessel in which it is stored than to anything on which it is poured.  Mark Twain

When I thought about this post a few weeks ago I knew it was something I would have to face sooner or later. I knew my anger and frustration with things and people I could not control would end up controlling me and causing me more pain.

Be not angry that you cannot make others as you wish them to be, since you cannot make yourself as you wish to be.  Thomas Kempis 

There are always people in our lives who anger us, frustrate us or otherwise can make our lives miserable. But it is our job to stop that anger from becoming something more. Stopping the rage and anger we feel in our hearts toward these people is what can make us a better person and a better species.

He who angers you conquers you.  Elizabeth Kenny 

Let’s face it we have people in our lives for one reason or another anger us, they are our co-workers, family, friends and lately politicians!

Giving into our desires of anger, rage and sometimes hatred of these people will makes us less than we are. Being less than we are is not who we want to be. We wish to be the person we wanted to be a children.

The person our friends look up to and idolize. I was picked on quite often in school and I always wished for something to happen to the person who made middle school hell for me.

When I realized a few years ago how that outright hate clouded my mind and made me someone I wasn’t, I hate myself for it. That hate of myself and the revelations of it brought a sense of peace after a while. That I knew I had allowed things to cloud my judgement and allow negative thoughts into my head, when I knew better, that was an epiphany that changed the way I viewed anger.

Holding on to anger is like grasping a hot coal with the intent of throwing it at someone else; you are the one who gets burned.  Buddha

Giving control of your life to someone else is the same as letting your life be led by the anger you have for whoever or whatever is causing the anger.

It is that same as giving that person control of your life. You control your life, you control your anger and it you who know the true you. Don’t let anger cloud your judgment, don’t let it control your world or let the thing that cause your anger rule you.

When angry count to ten before you speak. If very angry, count to one hundred. 
Thomas Jefferson

In the end you are the one who controls your anger, there is no on to blame for it but the person in the mirror. Finding your way out of that anger is the hardest part of dealing with it.

There are many ways to find your way through your anger, and no not anger management classes, books or workshops. Anger management classes teach you the same thing you would learn from a meditation seminar or a retreat.

You are responsible for you anger, you and no one but you. Sure you can place the blame on those causing the anger but ultimately it is you who must decide what path you take toward dealing with your anger issues

Meditation and counting to ten or higher does help. I know counting is goofy and has been done in lots of movies, cartoons and sitcoms, but it does work.

Bri

Here is a place that may help with your anger issues.

Tricycle Podcast – Tricycle is the voice of Buddhism and you will find a lot of things here. On iTunes there is guided meditation that we use for my son. All of their podcasts are great. I could not get it to link to iTunes only the Tricycle site. You can find the podcast in iTunes under Tricycle.

I am not trying to preach about Buddhism but it is the one thing that helped me with my anger issues, and I tried books and seminars with no luck.

This entry was posted in Fear, Life, Parenting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

