Becoming a tea junkie


The “Well” is different today. It is more a literal thing than figurative. The “Well” of tea.

*

If you are cold, tea will warm you.  If you are too heated, it will cool you.  If you are depressed, it will cheer you.  If you are excited, it will calm you.  ~Gladstone, 1865

When I began exploring teas I was intimidated. There are so many different types. I am not talking about white, green, black, or Rooibos.

I am talking about where they are from. Japanese green teas are lighter than Chinese green teas. There are so many flavors that can be added, from nuts, chocolate and fruits, not to mention the blending of the tea itself. Mixing a black tea like Earl Grey with a white tea can bring out flavors in the tea that one didn’t notice before.

Here is how this whole thing started:

Four months ago I quit drinking alcohol, and with it I stopped drinking coffee. The coffee made an immediate impact in finances since I wasn’t stopping at Starbucks or The Coffee Bean in the morning.

The alcohol is a work in progress, I haven’t slipped but I’ve come close.

While I quit coffee I had to find a replacement for my caffeine and I am not crazy about sodas or energy drinks.

With that I looked for the best places to buy good quality teas. The only place I found that had good quality tea was Teavana.

Tea is liquid wisdom.  ~Anonymous

After my first trip to the local Teavana I have been there very often and have tried a bit of their teas.

The point has been reached where I have a dozen tins of different teas, most of them mine, though some are my wife’s. These tins have replaced my coffee pot. I no longer wish for coffee in the morning only my Earl Grey.

During the day I have will make a few more cups of tea. My new favorite is Maté. My late night writing sessions needed the boost of the Maté’s high caffeine content.

Tea is a wonderful beverage and I have found that it makes a very good replacement for coffee. Don’t let the coffee chains fool you their tea tastes nothing like the stuff Teavana has.

I have grown to love tea over the last four months. Now with all the different teas I have and all the ones I have left to try, am I becoming a tea junkie.

Junkie: a person who derives inordinate pleasure from or who is dependent on something.

Yep, looks like I fit the definition.

Bri

This entry was posted in Life, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Becoming a tea junkie

  1. Tea, tea, tea! We’re glad you share our passion!

  2. 2737bc says:

    Viva la tea. Everyone needs more tea in their life, down with coffee.

    -2737bc
    Follow us for everything tea related.

Leave a Reply

