Give away or not, that is the question?


My aim is to put down what I see and what I feel in the best and simplest way I can tell it. ~ Ernest Hemingway

Never doing something and regretting it later is one of the things that haunts me on a daily basis. Whether it was not being able to tell my grandma one last time I loved her. Telling my dad I’m sorry and I screwed up. Or doing something with my life that is meaningful, like writing.

So it is with this that I have come up with this idea. I can’t talk about my current project for certain reasons. My main reason is that a writer should not talk about what they are writing, it can stunt the creative process and leave you wondering what if someone can do better with my idea.

This is the reason I have come up with books or music that are influencing the project. I have decided to give these away to the first six people who like my fan page. And you have to comment on the page so that I know your place. You can select which items you want, but you have to like the fan page in order to get them.

The worth of a book is to be measured by what you can carry away from it.  ~James Bryce

The list of books are:

A Farewell to Arms – Ernest Hemingway – I love Hemingway and this is one of the best books I have read.

Catcher in the Rye – J.D. Salinger – One of my favorite books.

Looking for Alaska by John Green – I have just started this book but it was suggested by a writer friend after I showed her my story idea.

Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist by David Levithan and Rachel Cohen – Another suggested read.

The Anatomy of Story – John Truby – The best book for a writer I have found. Two books for writing, this one and Elements of Style.

After silence, that which comes nearest to expressing the inexpressible is music. Aldous Huxley

The list of music:

Nevermind – Nirvana – The album of the 90’s. I have always been a fan of Nirvana

The Bends – Radiohead – an amazing album

 

I’m sure there are more things than this that influence this project. These are the main ones though.

 

This entry was posted in books, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Give away or not, that is the question?

  1. paulastewart55 says:

    Brian, this is great & of course not just because I’m your mom..

  2. Mary Ann Wilson says:

    I see why your mom is so proud of you! I would love to write but seriously lack talent. I’m envious of young people who are talented and willing to share that talent.

    • BB_Baker says:

      You would be surprised how much talent you have once you start, I was. Your talent is only nurtured through practice. Once you start practicing it become second nature.

Leave a Reply

