Tools of the writing trade, which do you prefer?


Getting this blog done was a chore today. Had trouble coming up with a topic and getting the words down were harder than usual. My mind is on my WiP and not on the blog, but I am plugging away because that’s what I do.

*

The pages are still blank, but there is a miraculous feeling of the words being there, written in invisible ink and clamoring to become visible.  ~Vladimir Nabakov

When it comes to writing there are a few ways to do it. You can use a pen and paper, a laptop, a PC/Mac, typewriter and word processor. And yes I know people that still use those last two. I used a word processor for a while when I was writing my first book.

I used to write at work with a pen and paper until I broke my hand three years ago. After that I couldn’t write for a while. Now when I can’t write with a pen unless it is only a paragraph or my hands starts hurting, I don’t think it ever healed properly.

I have two places I write, at work and home. I used to write at Borders until they closed. I use my laptop at work and I may start using my laptop more since it’s not always connected to the internet, can’t be distracted by Twitter, Facebook or email.

I bought my desktop for online gaming but haven’t done that in a long time and I feel it isn’t getting the gaming attention it deserves, but I don’t have the time anymore for online games, although “Star Wars: The Old Republic” looks really great.

With my desktops speed of navigating the internet and its beautifully lit keyboard I wonder why I have not downgraded to something more suitable for writing.

Whatever you write with fill your writings with your soul, the very breath you breathe, without doing that you are sitting putting letters on to a page or monitor that have no true life to them.

Bri

This entry was posted in writer, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

