Sliding down the wormhole with the white rabbit


This is a different topic that I have loved for a long time and started doing research for a new story. My knowledge is brief and that is why I have added the links to this post.

*

To say that life on Earth is in its infancy is to be blunt and to state a fact that many scientists have been saying for a long time. There are many things that we don’t understand. One of these are wormholes to explain a wormhole in terms that everyone can understand.

Think of Alice in through the looking glass. She is standing on one side of another world, literally. The mirror is the wormhole, a way to be transported between two destinations.

There have been many movies, TV Shows and books that use the wormhole concept. Two of my favorites is the TV Shows “Sliders” and “Dr. Who.”

Sliders had the MC(Main Character) Quinn Mallory, using wormholes to get to different universes, he and a group of friends travel to different dimensions, saving people and fixing things.

In Dr. Who, a human/alien travels through time to different places fixing things in a blue police box called a TARDIS.

There are more TV shows that include wormholes. Farscape and Star Trek: Deep Space Nine.

One of the movies to use the Wormhole concept is “Event Horizon.” The movie takes on the wormhole concept and turns it into a horror movie. I know that critics hated this movie, I thought it was awesome. The movie “The Matrix” is another. I could do an entire post on this movie, which I may do later.

Wormholes are theoretical in that no one has said they have seen one.

The idea behind the wormhole and its use in fiction whether it be novels, film or television has been fascinating to me since I first read “The Indian in the Cupboard.” That book changed the way I thought about things and how things came to life. I was child and the book fascinated me.

There are so many examples of its use that the actual theory is left behind. I hope that the links I place below are a help to those that are looking for real answers.

Introduction to Wormholes – This sight gives a run down of theories, starting with Reiman Cuts and ending with Sidney Coleman’s Wormholes.

The Anderson Institute – The Official Site of the World Encyclopedia of Time, the Time Shop, and the Time Research Association.

Nasa Cosmicopia on Wormholes – It’s Nasa.

Through the Wormhole – Hosted by Morgan Freeman, Through the Wormhole explores the deepest mysteries of existence — the questions that have puzzled mankind for eternity.

I hope this post was informative and I hope you learned as much a I did researching it.

Bri

This entry was posted in novels, Science, writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sliding down the wormhole with the white rabbit

  1. I just caught a glimpse of a few episodes of Doctor Who, and it just seems really complicated. I think wormholes make for complicated storylines. I actually just wrote a post that was inspired by Doctor Who http://tinyurl.com/4xt956m so it’s kind of very coincidental for me to read a post that includes the Who Doc in it. Kind of creepy to be honest, in a good way no worries.

    Wormholes are interesting as it gives a pathway into a different world. But, there are ways to explore different worlds without portals. Like Fightclub, or X-Men, or I don’t know. Any ways, good luck on the book, hope to hear more.

    • BB_Baker says:

      I’ve love Dr. Who since the originals aired on PBS when I was younger. I’m not sure why I have a fascination with wormholes, but I do. Thanks for your comments.

  2. You might also check out the concept of the tesseract or “tesser-wrinkle” in “A Wrinkle in Time” by Madeliene L’engle. Young adult fantasy but some very interesting descriptions about how to travel through from one time or space to another without traveling through through the time or space in between the two points. One of the clearest explanations I’ve ever seen

    Catherine Kane
    CatherineKaneWrites

    • BB_Baker says:

      My wife said the same thing about “A Wrinkle in Time” after I posted this. One of my favorite books as a kid. Thanks again for your comments Catherine.

      • You’re welcome. It was one of my first and favorite as well (and my parents were honored to know the author)

        Even though the book uses a different term from “worm hole”, the description given is so perfect and clear that any one playing in this neighborhood should know about it (and it’s being a good neighbor to share the word :)…)

        Catherine Kane

Leave a Reply

