Why I love writing horror!


“[Horror fiction] shows us that the control we believe we have is purely illusory, and that every moment we teeter on chaos and oblivion.”

~ Clive Barker

I have come to write many different genres, the one that I feel is the most fun is horror.

I think it’s the sadist in me coming out. Everyone one of us would like to do the things that some characters in horror novels or book do. What stops us is our moral guidance.

When writing a horror novel or screenplay, you throw that guidance away and do what you want to do without having to worry about things…like police, jail or life long therapy.

I am not sure if it is the torture I went through in middle school or something else but I enjoy torturing the characters in my horror stories. There is a part of me that enjoys seeing how far I can push the character before they either lash out at what is happening to them or they become like the creature, person or whatever is causing them torture.

I write other stories, beautiful stories, but I don’t have as much fun. I write horror to give my soul a regeneration. It is the only way I have found that I can restore my faith in my writing.

I take away everything that could be possible and put in the impossible that is the way I like to write horror.

Bri

To read some of my writing go here!

This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

