Ancestry and why I’m interested in my Scottish heritage


The wise man must remember that while he is a descendant of the past, he is a parent of the future. 
– Herbert Spencer

The recent holiday is one of my favorites, I never truly understood why until I started doing ancestral history.

My genealogy consists of the following: Dutch (my Father’s side), Scottish (My Maternal Grandmother), Spanish (My Maternal Grandfather, and that’s Spain) and possibly Greek (My Paternal Grandmother was adopted so it’s a guess based on her appearance).

For some reason I’ve been fascinated with my Scottish lineage since my late teens. My great-grandfather spoke with a strong brogue as my mom and aunts have told me.

When I read about where Halloween began I understood why I love it so much, it’s in my blood along with all the other things I have always been fascinated with; witches, psychics and a fondness of Scotch.

My Great-grandmother read tea leaves as my mom has told me and I have seen things that some would consider outlandish. I speak of ghosts, UFO’s and talking to spirits. Being gifted in the realm of psychic gifts is not as cool as some might think. Sometimes you wish there was a switch to shut it off, I haven’t found it.

My grandmother was gifted and there are others in my family that are as well. Some more than others. Gifts have been passed down from generations. These gifts are usually looks, hair color. In my family it is more metaphysical.

My wife and I are planning a trip to the U.K. in 2014 and I hope to know more about my ancestry then. All I know now is that I am a Hunter, I’m not sure where my great-grandfather came from exactly but I would like to meet some of the family he left in Scotland in my lifetime. It is one of those things that I feel I must do. It is right up there with being published.

I know where it starts, I’m ready to find where the trail ends.

Bri

End comment: I could do a few posts about my ancestry and why I’m interested in my Scottish heritage. I am proud of where I came from and want to learn more.

This entry was posted in family, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

