My Bane. The migraine headache!


We all have those weeks that bring us down for whatever reason. This week it’s been my turn.

I suffer from migraines, I get them sometimes three times a week. There are times I go without one for months and then just like that I get hit.

A migraine is not a normal headache, anyone that says they have a migraine and don’t look like they’ve crawled out of a grave are full of it. A migraine is a debilitating thing that can cause a family to lose their home, like it did with me and my family.

The Definition: A migraine headache can cause intense throbbing or pulsing in one area of the head and is commonly accompanied by nausea, vomiting, and extreme sensitivity to light and sound. Migraine attacks can cause significant pain for hours to days and be so severe that all you can think about is finding a dark, quiet place to lie down.

Some migraines are preceded or accompanied by sensory warning symptoms (aura), such as flashes of light, blind spots or tingling in your arm or leg.

When I know a migraine is coming I see little things around objects, the auras. I also have severe sensitivity to light just before it hits. During the actual migraine I lay as still as possible (when I can) and hope that my kids stay quiet.

I have taken medications for my migraines, had vision tests, MRI’s and equilibrium tests. Nothing has ever come back.

The cause of most of my migraines is stress. It is easy to say, “reduce your stress” to someone when you don’t know their life. The pain itself feels like your head is in a vice and being struck repeatedly with a ball pin hammer.

I try to work 40 hours a week (migraines permitting), write 1500 words or more a night, play with my kids, write my blog and spend time with my wife. From the outside looking in it may seem like I am taking time away from work to do my writing, which is far from the case.

I am usually in bed with a towel on my head that is half covering my eyes to limit the light. All the blinds are closed in the room. The only thing with me is my dog, she stays with me when I have migraines.

I know not many people understand a migraine, it is something I have dealt most of my adult life. If you know someone that truly gets migraines, be sympathetic to them, they aren’t trying to ruin your day or holiday.

Bri

Credits:

Mayo Clinic  

Medications

Migraine apps for the iPhone- iHeadache – This is the app I use to keep track of my migraines. It lets you track your symptoms, meds, triggers and contains a log. It is very useful!

Here is a full list for the iPhone.

Migraine apps for the Android – Here is the list of apps. I don’t have a Droid but this is a good list.

I took the criteria for diagnostic from here.

This entry was posted in Life, writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to My Bane. The migraine headache!

  1. UGH! (and the exhaustion after it finallly stops) Dog= true friend.

    • BB_Baker says:

      Yes, the exhaustion afterward or migraine hangover as I call it. It usually takes me a day or more to get back to normal after a migraine. Thanks for you comment!

  2. Unless someone has suffered from them they just don’t get it!! I have stayed in a closet trying to stay motionless to keep out the light, worn earplugs to keep out the noise. My sense of smell becomes very accute during one of thesse nasty things. The aura comes to my eyes & I want to cry, I know what is happening, but if I cry it hurts worse.. Oh my and if the vomiting starts god help me, it hurts even more. Never know when it will hit.. If this is one of those darn genetic traits Brian I am so sorry!!
    Sometimes I will remain in a fog for days afterward, and like you I have had every test to find the cause.. Thank you Brian for posting this, some people just don’t get it. I wouldn’t wish these on anyone!!

  3. Shannon Dershem says:

    It kills me that you go through this. I’ve never had a migraine 🙂 and I never want one. When I read that your going through these or about to etc. I just want to throw ideas your way to make them stop. I’ve seen what they can do to people, my mom used to get them and it baffles me that there is nothing anyone can really do except wait for it to go away. So that’s why I ask if you’ve tried yoga, acupuncture, acupressure etc because I’ve seen what they did to her and YIKES!!! All the best, will see you soon. Smooches to you and yours. 🙂

    • BB_Baker says:

      I’m going back to the doctor soon for them and am doing Yoga again. I want to try acupuncture but it is very expensive. The part I hate most is not being able to do anything with the family. Thanks for the comment Shannon. Looking forward to seeing you.

  4. I too get horrible migraines, I used to have some prescription meds for them, but I am currently taking some meds that don’t mix with most migraine meds, so I am just having to “deal with them” right now, so I will try the iHeadache app.

    I have also read several accounts where the Buddha also suffered from migraines, so perhaps you are just on your way to enlightenment 😉

    • BB_Baker says:

      My migraines seem to get worse, I started new meds but they make me forgetful and I have trouble concentrating (writing). My main problem is missing hours at the day job, which causes issues with paying bills and taking care of my family.

      I had not heard of the Buddha suffering from migraines, but now I’m curious and will have to look into it. I don’t think I’m close to enlightenment, not for a few lifetimes yet. But it would be interesting to have a westerner become enlightened. Thanks for your comments!

Leave a Reply

