Writing like I’m published


When a story begins in my head it’s a glimmer, a shadow of what the eventual finished story becomes. These glimmers offer hope, solace and a bit of comfort to my day.

Every glimmer is written down either on paper, on Evernote as a word doc or a project in Scrivener. I look through these files every once in a while like the mad scientist admiring his creations. Sometimes I do something with them other times they sit and wait for the right time.

It is this right time that worries me sometimes. There are always times when I worry the story will fade and I will lose what could have been a great story idea.

My current writing problem is exactly like that. 

In one instance I have a story that has every element of a great story. But I have the hardest time writing it. The story would sell and would make a lot of people understand a generation and know them better and make them feel like they were a part of something wonderful. Then there is the other story that I write with ease and feel comfortable with and may not sell as well or probably won’t be picked up by an agent because it is too much like everything else being published right now, though I’ve never read any of the books that are popular nor have I picked them up and browsed them in a book store.

So this is what I’ve come up with: Write like I’m already published.

Only in doing that can I truly call myself a writer. I would have beaten back the demons that tell me I can’t write the story. I will push against the grains and fibers in my brain forcing myself to do something that it tells me not to.

I know the story needs to be written. There are only three people who know about this story. My wife, my “editor” and myself. My wife and editor love the idea and both have told me that I must write this one.

My editor went so far as to say “drop everything I’m writing and write it”. If that’s not a story endorsement I’m not sure I’ll ever see one.

So I am taking everything again, starting over. Finding where the story really begins. I thought I knew but I didn’t. This story is beautiful and really is what I want to write. I want to write books that change people. I don’t want to write the next best seller, though that would be nice. I really want to write a book that will make a difference.

Back to the story…

Bri

This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Writing like I’m published

  1. jasondegray says:

    Instead of wanting to write books that change people, maybe you should want to change people through your books. Hence it’s not the writing process itself that is important, but the message you are trying to get across.

  2. That is brilliant. I love it! “Write like I am already published” I don’t think I will ever forget that.

    • BB_Baker says:

      Thank you so much for your comment! I”m going to look at this when I get stuck and tell myself, “If I were paid to write _____ would I still be having this much trouble?”

  3. Kana Tyler says:

    Yes yes yes! I applaud anyone’s resolve to write where the heart is (surely that’s where the ART is?) without reference to that insidious urge to consider audience, publisher, market, etc. ahead of story & message. I hope you don’t mind if I borrow this mantra (in the privacy of my own head) while I contemplate my current project… 😉

    • BB_Baker says:

      Thanks for your comments and feel free to use it as your mantra, I’m thinking of putting it on my desktop to remind me every day.

  4. jasondegray says:

    The worst writing I do is the writing I do trying to consider audience and others’ perceptions. But I feel like we’re having this concept shoved down our throats as part of what is needed to become a successful author. I think it’s a distraction more than anything.

    • BB_Baker says:

      My cousin has three books out and a third coming in March. She told me write what you want to write your audience will come. By the time a book goes through the publishing process what was popular when it it was sent off is at least two years old. The publishing industry is cyclical, what once was popular will be again.

Leave a Reply

