When asking for things, be specific, don’t leave anything out


Do not overrate what you have received, nor envy others. He who envies others does not obtain peace of mind. – Buddha

I have talked about my migraines on here before and how I have missed work, lost a house and had my credit obliterated.

I just wanted to have them go away. Well, I started taking a new medication two weeks ago and I can say I have had one since the meds have had time to really kick in.

Now comes the part about being specific. I did not say I wanted my brain to run on auto-pilot or to lose sleep, that was not what I said.

Since taking the pill, I  have stayed up until 1 a.m. or later on three occasions. I have barely written a word on my MS and am generally frustrated. I am now to the point of cycling the meds so that I can get some writing in.

I have also started exercising again to stave off the headaches. It is something that I knew I needed to do again and after finishing a book by Lama Surya Das I know it is something I must do to regain my body.

Knowing your body and mind is something we all must do at some point. Those of us who have a family history of Alzheimer’s  or dementia should do it earlier than others.

To enjoy good health, to bring true happiness to one’s family, to bring peace to all, one must first discipline and control one’s own mind. If a man can control his mind he can find the way to Enlightenment, and all wisdom and virtue will naturally come to him. – Buddha

We all want things out of life, it doesn’t matter what philosophy we subscribe to. We want our family to be healthy, we want to get that new job, and most of all we want our lives to work out for the best.

I believe that we are here for a reason, to learn as much as possible before moving to our next rebirth. We as humans look to things like God/s, meditation, saints, Bodhisattva’s and any number of other religion deities, but be careful what you ask for, it may come in different packages than you are expecting.

Bri

For more on Alzheimer’s – alz.org

For more on meditation – How to meditate.org

For information on migraine headaches – Migraine.com

This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to When asking for things, be specific, don’t leave anything out

  1. Joy says:

    Thank you for your posts lately, Brian! I needed to hear this one today and I like that you informed us on Buddah – I think it is very important to inform ourselves. Knowledge is power. 🙂

Leave a Reply

