The Muppets, where has all the fun TV gone?


Seeing the Muppets together again was emotional, I’m not sure why but it was. I grew up with them as most of the kids in my generation–X–and I wondered where the time went. There used to be cartoons on Saturdays not news shows. America used to revolve around kids not their parents. When did things change?

When I was little I looked forward to getting up with my kids one day and watching cartoons on Saturday morning because my dad didn’t. Those days are gone, replaced with “The Today Show”, “The Morning Show” and every other type of news show you can think of. How many news shows do we really need, and where are kids supposed to get their fun from, where are they supposed to get their laughter from?

There are so many things from my childhood that are gone away, Muppets, Saturday morning cartoons, Cartoons before and after school. Everything is replaced with stupid actors that can’t entertain half as well as cartoons could, I’ve watched today’s cartoons and a lot of them are horrible. I’m not talking about the ones that are on at night or on Cartoon Network. Some of those are actually good.

It’s time to light the lights, it’s time to start the music. Kids today have no idea what we had when we were growing. Warner Bros. Cartoons, and don’t tell me it’s violent. You see more violence on the nightly news than a cartoon any night of the week.

There were actual moments during The Muppets my eyes teared up as I remembered things from the original show. When they first turn on the lights in the theater, I teared up. When the monsters came out on stage into their picture holes, I teared up. All these moments from my childhood I can’t share with my kids unless I buy a DVD because networks don’t care about kids, they care about adults because adults watch most of the TV.

When I was a kid, we watched less TV but it was better TV. Today kids watch more TV but it’s less interesting than when I was growing up and a lot less fun.
We need to get back to our kids being more important than the adults when it comes to our TV programming.

Bri

This entry was posted in Movies, Music, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Muppets, where has all the fun TV gone?

  1. jasondegray says:

    I loathe the new ploy to rehash our childhoods to make a few bucks off of it. I staunchly refuse to watch the new A-Team because just seeing the trailers ruined it for me.

    • BB_Baker says:

      I completely agree Jason except with this movie. They got this one right. I didn’t want to see the A-team for that reason. I understand there is a remake of Poltergeist in the work as well, which I think is a classic horror movie along the lines of The Exorcist and should not be touched. But they redid The Omen so I guess there is nothing that is safe. There is also a Scarface remake in the works. Some things should not be remade they should be left alone. The Muppets was such an amazing film I plan on seeing it again, by myself this time without my wife and kids.

      As always thanks for your comments.

  2. Great post. I think most cartoons these days simply have no soul. They lack any of the substance found in cartoons even a short 10-15 years ago. Then again, it could be just the nostalgia in both of us speaking, but I definitely think most cartoons these days are unimaginative, uninspired, and lack any balance of being fun and substantial. I haven’t noticed the news station aspect, though I don’t watch much actual television in general.

    • BB_Baker says:

      I agree Kenneth. Most cartoons are rehashings–bad ones–of previously done cartoons. There is so much more that could be done with cartoons but Hollywood and the entertainment industry doesn’t want to take a chance on a new idea. Which is why we’re seeing so many remakes. The news aspect is about Saturday morning cartoons. When I was growing up I spent most of the morning–until 8:30–in front of the TV watching cartoons. Only after that did news shows come on. We don’t watch much TV in our house anymore since I pulled the plug on our cable last year. We use Hulu Plus and Netflix for our TV viewing. It is wonderful to have the TV off at night until we decide what to watch on Hulu Plus. Thanks for your comments and I’m loving your blog posts.

Leave a Reply

