My New Life Resolution


Being good at something is all I wanted as a kid. I tried soccer. It was something my parents put me in not something I chose. I eventually tried ice hockey after baseball wasn’t me either. Finding what I’m good at has always haunted me. It is the one thing I remember as a kid. “You have to be good at something.” My dad said after I scored a goal for the other team in soccer. Some things you never forget as a kid.

I have spoken about how I’ve wanted to make my dad proud of me and how much I still love him even though we don’t talk anymore. It is a mutual thing.

Being good at writing is something that I wanted for myself. It was never about my dad, or anyone else. I know it sounds like the most selfish of reasons. But for once I wanted something for me. Because I wanted to. I know that this goes against everything I’ve been taught, “we should want to do something for the world, not just for ourselves.”

After today, I’m writing for myself. I always wanted to do something for me in my life. I’ve really lived–in my eyes–and unselfish life and my writing, I want to do that for me. There are stories I want to tell and lives I want to create with words, entire worlds waiting to come alive if I only write for myself.

I trust in my beliefs and in what I know is true. I have true faith in what life has to offer and I know I’m capable of great things. I want to write for me.

Wanting to do something with my life that brings joy to others is what I’ve wanted to do since I was a little kid. When I was a kid I felt like I was the only one that saw that.

I know what I want, it is the doing that is  the challenge. I’m changing things. Making new rules to do this. I don’t believe in New Year’s Resolutions. This is a New Life Resolution. I’m changing who I am day to day, and maybe along the way I will change a few people with me.

Bri

This entry was posted in faith, Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My New Life Resolution

  1. taureanw says:

    I think finding something you want to do for yourself & not because of what other’s want is one of the more un-selfish things in the world. We have to find out what we want from life, not what other people WANT us to want from life :-p

    The written word may not seem like much but in the right circumstances it can be far more powerful then any type of brute force.

  2. Joy says:

    Absolutely fantastic, again!! This is what I am learning in my journey, as well. In the process of doing something for our self and trying to be better… it has a profound effect on those around us…and our children…our families…spouses… It’s like a domino effect. Profound! You’ve been inspiring me, as well. Thanks for that.

    • BB_Baker says:

      Thanks Joy! If I can inspire anyone I feel like I’ve done something amazing. It is not everyday that happens. Thank you as always for your great comments. You inspire me to write more.

Leave a Reply

