Music leaves fingerprints in our lives


This weekend I had a discussion with a friend about music. We have agreed to disagree. I don’t have an ear for music, I have an ear for words. I’m sure being a bartender has helped me improve my ear for dialogue and for understanding words.

The point I’m trying to make is that some of us like different music for different reasons. Whether it was because we were introduced to it by someone or it is just our generation.

I am that way with Industrial music. I love the way all the guitars, synthesizers, drums and whatever creative tool the musician uses to create their sound. I’ve loved it since my first concert and have been a loyal Nine Inch Nails fan for twenty years.

I appreciate all types of music and listen to different types of music, depending on the story I’m writing I will select a genre of music that fits the feeling of the story.

When I read “Game of Thrones” by George R. R. Martin just before the TV show on HBO I listened to Florence + the Machine while reading. When I read Bram Stoker’s Dracula I listened to Chopin’s Nocturne’s. With my current story I’ve been listening to a lot of tool, NIN, Marilyn Manson, Godsmack, Rage Against the Machine and whatever else happens to pop up on Pandora.

Growing up I remember listening to John Denver, Supertramp and Cristopher Cross in my dad’s green truck. Hearing those songs today reminds me of being in his truck, the smell of the seats with stuffing coming out, the way it always had an oil type smell in the cab.

The soundtrack from Grease and Saturday Night Fever reminds me of my big sisters because they would play those albums–yes vinyl–on the weekends. Different songs bring back memories of things.

The first time I heard “Closer” by Nine Inch Nails I was driving down the freeway and the beat came in, then the pop, then Trent started with the lyrics. I was sold after that. I still remember where I was on the freeway in Utah when I heard the song for the first time.

It really is true the music is the soundtrack to our lives. Each moment from my life I know a song that will take me to that moment.

When I think of my wife I hear the song “Angel” by Sarah McLachlan

When my son was little I played Usher’s “Yeah” in the car. That song reminds me of that car and my son at age one and a half.

With my daughter, it’s Katy Perry “Teenage Dream”, I’m not sure where she heard it first. But I bought the CD based on her reaction. She’s 2.

Every song, has a meaning, whether it is Pop, Rock, Industrial, Soundtrack, Score, Reggae, Classic Rock, Country. Country actually reminds me of my brother-in-law who passed away. Classic Rock reminds me of my Step-dad. Pop reminds me of my daughter. Huey Lewis reminds me of my dad. Music Scores remind me of my cousin and her son. 80’s rock reminds me of my brother-in-law.

Music is a fingerprint in our lives.

Bri

What songs bring you back to certain places?

This entry was posted in Music, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Music leaves fingerprints in our lives

  1. I completely agree. Sometimes a song will bring back a specific memory, smell, taste, anything at all.

    I always feel that way when I listen to the score for The Dark Knight. After seeing the film the night it came out I walked out of the theater blown away. It was at that moment that I said to myself, “That’s what I want to do. I want to write music that can connect people as much as the score for TDK connected with me”.

    Great post!

    • BB_Baker says:

      I felt the same way about writing when I read The Indian in the Cupboard and Fahrenheit 451. I think you are on your way Kenneth. How many people your age can say they have done one score not to mention the 3 you’ve done. Music is the one thing that can bring me back to a moment in my life.

  2. The music pairings are terrific. And I love that last line. Good read. thanks

  3. Great post thanks. I really enjoyed it very much. You have excellent content on your blog.

    Love writing? We would love for you to join us!

    Content Writers Wanted

Leave a Reply

