2011: My retrospective and looking to 2012


What I’ve done this year.

When I look back at the past year I want to look back at what I’ve accomplished. I finished one book. The book is has vampires in it, and well anyone that has been in a book store knows why it is sitting. You can see what would have been the prologue for it here. I love the story, the characters and everything about it. The market is just too saturated with vampire stories for it right now.

The blog seems to have found its voice with the new format. I’ve had more traffic since I implemented the changes and since I set up a schedule for posts. There are many things I plan to do in the year ahead. A lot of them deal with helping other writers, artists and those in need.

I have gone through a transformation of  sorts in the last three months. I spoke about it on the blog and with my family. They see the changes in how I respond the things and how I treat those that have mistreated myself and my family.

What I’ve learned about myself.

I know who I am, and who I’m not. I no longer enjoy writing one genre. Sticking to one things dulls the mind and makes a writer boring. I think that’s why Stephen King has written in so many different areas other than horror. And I’m not comparing myself to King, I couldn’t sleep at night if I came up with some of his stories.

I’ve found my spirituality over the last year, something I had been looking for, but after one particular meditation session I discovered.

I’ve had to deal with new problems with my sons learning difficulties and the discovery of his ADHD. This is something my wife and I are dealing with on a daily basis and is constant struggle to keep him under control.

I’ve fought off more demons than years before.

This year more than anything has been one of dealing with demons, old and new. I have forgiven my dad for my childhood and I know not all of it was his fault. I love him and always will. Some things are not worth arguing about, especially when things are not as important as they seem to be.

I’ve learned to write what I want, not what everyone wants me to write. I think this change will make me a better writer. I can tell the difference in my current project and past projects already. I consider this a demon for the simple reason of fear. As humans we want people to like us. I tried to hard with this one. So to quote Kurt Cobain –  “I’d rather be hated for who I am, than loved for who I am not”

The year ahead.

This next year will be weird. I use that word because I am not writing a book that anyone other than my wife and cousin know anything about. I stopped telling what I was writing a while ago, it created too many distractions.

I plan to take my family to see more things in nature. We have beautiful things in the Las Vegas valley and they need to see more of them. I want them to be less city kids.

I plan to give up some things in the coming year. I will let you know what they are. I’ve already mostly given up alcohol. I want to spend more time with my son, it’s something I believe both of us need.

I’m going to start doing something once a month just my wife and I. Whether it’s a movie, ice cream or whatever. But this is important after being married twelve years.

I plan to write and send off two books to agents this year. The first to be done by the end of January the next by the end of July. Those are not strict timetables as life and a day job may hinder that.

I plan to get into the Buddhist community more. Not so much in Las Vegas as on the web through Tricycle.

I want to make more time for myself. This may be a retreat during the day to meditate or overnight as I did in October. I plan to practice more, this will mean more meditation, spiritual reading and retreat videos on Tricycle. I have found my spiritual path and I’m not going to stray now that I’ve found it.

Brian

This entry was posted in books, family, Life, writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 2011: My retrospective and looking to 2012

  1. It looks like overall you had a good year, and are making plans for an even better 2012! From what I have seen you are a wonderful writer, and a devoted family man, so keep your head up and stay the path.

    • BB_Baker says:

      Thanks Jason! It was a good year. Had my ups and downs, mostly ups. Thank you for your comments I try to write better with each post and I try to be the dad my kids truly deserve because I know a lot of kids that don’t have a dad.

  2. Impressive. Very centered. Peace in the new year.

Leave a Reply

