Why are we still on earth?


In the last year we’ve discovered a lot of planets out there. In the last week they’ve found planets like earth. When I was thinking about this, a thought occurred to me. This thought has happened before. It never came through on this scale.

What would I be if I weren’t on Earth?

I know this is really big, kind of out there thinking. But, honestly it has come to my attention that a lot of people don’t think these types of things. I understand some of the philosophical ideas behind this. But I’m not talking about that.

If I’m on Earth and other planets that may be habitable then why did my soul or living essence end up on this rock and not another. If there is a Creator am I stuck only on this on planet or will my next rebirth be on a different planet?

Why did I think this, what’s the point?

When looking at the universe we usually use the naked eye. Every once in a while we may look at pictures on Space.com or a number of online news outlets. But there is a quote from the movie Men In Black –

1500 years ago, everybody “knew” that the earth was the center of the universe. 500 years ago, everybody “knew” that the earth was flat. And 15 minutes ago, you “knew” that humans were alone on this planet. Imagine what you’ll “know” tomorrow. ” -Kay

With as fast as we are progressing to the discovery of life on other planets, regardless of what type of life it is. Why do people still think so small?

The world needs big ideas, not small thinking.

When I was a kid and I watched the Space Shuttle take off I swore we would have a person on Mars by now. That was my childhood thinking, my childhood big minded thinking.

Kids think different, I know that. They look at the world as a piece of magic could be hiding under any rock. At least that’s how my kids are. My son has tons of Legos. He is a master at creating things. Things get broken, he gets frustrated but he goes back and makes something cooler. It seems like there is less money being put into these types of things as there was when I was a kid.

A Sense of Governance

With each discovery mankind has found there things that we cannot control no matter how much we want to. Exploring the universe is no different.

When Columbus discovered the New World he found there were people already living there with there own rules.

What if when we discover a planet, there is something else. Something that we learn about that we weren’t expecting.  What if there is a law or sense of governance of the universe that is bigger than what we believe.

What if there is not a Creator but a group of Creators. A Council that oversees things. Each “Creator” oversees a different area of the universe. This would explain why past life experiences are only about Earth.

For everything, turn, turn, turn, turn!

No matter what happens between now and when we find other life, no matter how small or how large it may be we always find a way through. It was true at every point in our history. Now that we have reached another turning point: The possible discovery of extraterrestrial life.  We will find a way through that as well.

Humanity is stuck in a rut when it comes to space exploration. It has been since the first shuttle launch. Governments don’t want to spend the money they once did. The U.S. won the space race. Why should we?  We should because it’s what we do. We are explorers, from our ancestors leaving Africa to others crossing from Siberia into  North America. We explore. It is human nature to look for things we don’t understand and find out why?

We are still on Earth for the simple reason as we don’t dream as big as we once did. And those that do dream big are shunned or are told, “We don’t have the money for that.” I’m not talking about America, I’m talking about the world. We set goals to land a man on the moon in ten years time, and did it.

Man is meant for exploring, not for small feats.

This entry was posted in Life, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Why are we still on earth?

  1. susielindau says:

    This is such a great piece! I still feel like that little kid and wonder what other planetary beings think of us???? It is important to keep an open minded attitude. Who knows what 2012 will bring in new discoveries. It is exciting to think about!

    • BB_Baker says:

      I’ve always been fascinated with the stars and planets. These new discoveries has rekindled that. Thanks again for your comments Susie!

  2. Or what if we’re a spec on something else like in Horton hears a who? Standing in a dark field looking at stars is mind boggling. There’s so much less dark sky now. Childhood is so “organized” and scheduled – is there time to muck around in the mud build things, scrounge stuff and build something, daydream or just be so bored….(and no one jumps to amuse …) Hope the spark returns – there so much out there. Great post

    • BB_Baker says:

      I thought about the spec too. Like we are the playthings of aliens. They check in us every fifty years or so, that seems to be when an alien craft is reported to have crashed. I agree childhood is so scheduled. I’ve really noticed it since my son started school. They don’t have much time to play in the sandbox and create. Not the way I did. It’s really sad that kids are losing that, and I too hope that spark returns. Thanks Philosopher!

Leave a Reply

