2012: The Plan


There are many things I want to do this year. If you’ve been following the blog you know that I have been plotting a lot of things-well here is where I lay out the plan for 2012.

January

I have a book that I plan to finish and get started on a revision with the completed revision ready to be sent off to an agent by the first week of March, or by my birthday. Also, in January I plan on taking my son to a shelter, showing him that we live very well and that there are some people who don’t have things as well as we do.

February

This month my sister and her family come home from Germany. Her husband is in the Army and they’ve been there the last three years. I am close to my sister and her oldest son and my son are the same age. I am looking forward to doing things with her and her family.

I will be doing revisions for my book this month and doing blog posts sometimes days ahead of time and getting them ready.

March

I share this month with my son as our birthday month, we are both Pisces: emotional, creative and thoughtful. The King will be eight this year and wants a party. Still not sure if we are going to be able to swing that with what we have planned for the rest of the year.

I am sending off a completed draft this month of the book to an agent and begin writing another book, there is always another story to be written.

There is also a book that comes out this month I am looking forward to. It belongs to a the family member I’ve talked about.

April

This month starts off with our trip to Disneyland while the King is on Spring Break. The Princess hasn’t been to Disneyland and we are looking forward to showing her everything. I know she will lose her mind when she sees Mickey Mouse, every kid does.

May

I should be at least 30k into writing the new book by this date and will start looking for letters and e-mails from agents around this time. I don’t plan on contacting agents unless they have questions about the MS.

June

This month the King and I are going to Chicago for the Cubs and Red Sox. This is something I’ve planned for the past year and both of us have been looking forward to a trip that is just us. We did a father and son trip two years ago to Winslow, Arizona to see the meteor crater.

July

By this time I should have heard something about the book and should be done with a rough draft of the other book. I plan on enjoying the 4th of July holiday with my family.

August

This month I will begin saving for school clothes for the King. I plan to do revisions for the book I sent off in March if the news was all bad and even if it wasn’t I will probably be working on revisions for it.

September

School is back and this month the Princess turns three. Have a lot to do this fall getting ready for the end of the year and everything that goes with it.

October

This is my favorite month. I am big Halloween freak and the more I learn about my Scottish heritage the more I want to know about Samhain.

November

Thanksgiving, and family. This year I want to work at a soup kitchen. I plan to give up my Thanksgiving and volunteer.

December

Christmas and my wife and kids. I know it is still almost a year away but I’m hoping for a great end of year for 2012.

This is a rough draft

This is what I have planned. I have things I want to do. I am following this plan and  am hoping there are no wrenches or anything bigger thrown into this to throw everything off. I want 2012 to be a better year than 2011, which is saying a lot. 2011 was a great year, but things can always be better.

Reading

I have a list of books I want to read this year. A lot of them are classics and there are also a few from authors I really love. Anne Rice’s The Wolf Gift in February, Michelle Zink’s A Temptation of Angels in March. I know there are other books I plan to read, just can’t think of all of them now. These are the ones I can remember off the top of my head. Classic literature will dominate my reading for the year.

This entry was posted in books, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

