My rediscovery of the warmth of Vinyl Records


For the last year I have been thinking about getting a Vinyl record player. I have great memories of vinyl as child.  The thought of listening to it with my kids was something that I wanted to do.

Making the leap

I knew that I wanted albums from artists I loved. These would be classic artists like The Doors, Jimi Hendrix, The Beatles, Led Zeppelin and Bob Marley. Along the way I discovered there were bands I grew up with that I didn’t listen to much then but now I like them and thought they would sound great with that warm sound. These are Violent Femmes, The Smiths, The Clash, Dead Kennedy’s. These are bands I never listened to, though I think I would have liked.

With classics come the modern

With the classics I thought about bands that I liked or current artists that I thought would sound great on Vinyl. I knew these would be artists with great vocals, that played their instruments and gave something to the musical community other than noise.

I became a fan of Arcade Fire with Funeral and that is on the list of ones I wish to acquire. I also want to get Adele. I am starting with My Morning Jacket and Mumford and Sons. There are others I plan on getting of modern artists, Florence + the Machine along with other classics, Blues and Jazz artists being the ones I really want to get. John Coltrane, Miles Davis, Junior Kinbrough, B.B. King and Little Walter.

The Blues and Jazz are going to be tough, especially Little Walter and some of the older Blues artists.

I have my turntable set up next to my PC so I can listen to it when I’m writing, which works out good. I’m really loving this and would like suggestions for albums I should get on Vinyl. If you have never heard an album on Vinyl, I suggest you find someone who has a turntable, real turntable and listen to The Beatles “White Album” on Vinyl, it’s a different experience than an MP3 or CD.

This entry was posted in Art, Music, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My rediscovery of the warmth of Vinyl Records

  1. I have crates of records..even with a few scratches, I’ll take them.

  2. My parents have quite a few records themselves. My favorite of the bunch is Foghat Fool For The City. Good record. Nice band. A classic in my book. They also have Bread, The Beatles Live at the Hollywood Bowl, The Partridge Family, and various others. I want to get a vinyl player myself just so that I can borrow these records and listen to them over and over again.

Leave a Reply

