Finding new things to improve your writing


This year I set some high goals. Some that, when my wife read them she kind of gave me a look of “okay, go for it.”

Among the things I’m doing to improve my writing this year are books, lots of books on writing, art and self-improvement.

Last year I received a book from a friend, the book is  “The Anatomy of Story” by John Truby. If you don’t know the book and you’re a writer, find it, buy it and learn it. I learned more from reading that book than any other to that point. I still carry the book with me. The book is designed for screenplays, but it can be used for any type of writer.

Over the past year I have found sites, blogs and people that I trust when it comes to information about writing. One of my favorite sites for finding new books on writing is Jeff Goins, Writer. I found Jeff’s site by chance. I had a friend on Twitter RT (Retweet) one of his posts and I started learning from that post. With every post from Jeff I learn something new. He has guest posts and for those that want to learn more about Twitter, he has a post on that as well.

One of Jeff’s posts that I hadn’t seen before was talking about a group of books The Best Books on Writing You’ll Ever Read. I had some of these books in my library already or had read them. There were two that I hadn’t read. The Artist’s Way by Julia Cameron and Bird by Bird by Anne Lamott. I am have both on my kindle, mostly because I’m impatient and wanted to start reading and because I had Amazon gift card from my parents for Christmas.

I’m 30% done with the Artist’s Way and this book has changed the way I feel in the morning. Following the rituals it has set has helped, and I’m only a week in to the 12 weeks you’re supposed to follow the book. It is simplistic, but it really does help with focus. The morning pages are amazing. They clear my head and make me not worry so much about what I have to do at my day job.

I bought the book for my wife, because she needs guidance with her painting more than I do with my writing. She’s been away from her brushes for too long and she needs to get her confidence back. After one week I bought this book for her. It is a little religious in the way it’s written, but I don’t mind that at all.

I have in the last week picked up on the book where I left off on  just before Christmas. I wrote 1200 words in 30minutes the other night and everything feels right in the world when I’m writing. I feel more confident now, and a confident writer is always a good thing.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Finding new things to improve your writing

  1. susielindau says:

    It’s amazing how even one tip can help the writer get back on track!
    Thanks for this!

  2. Thanks for the writing tips. One can never acquire too much information on the subject of writing, as I am always open to new ideas and processes to hone my writing skills.

    Best of luck, and thanks for sharing your thoughts with us!

    Regards,
    Kevin

  3. Sometimes a little structure jump starts stuff. Nice post

    • BB_Baker says:

      Thanks Philosopher. The John Truby book is amazing in how it helps with structure. It changed the way I write. It is my favorite writing book.

  4. weelilwimsy says:

    I love Julia Cameron. I’ve been reading her stuff for years. She will change your life!

    I wanted to let you know that I have nominated your blog for the Versatile Blogger Award. Please see this post for more information about the award: http://weelilwimsy.com/2012/01/11/oh-my-surprise/

Leave a Reply

