My bully adventures


My reason for this post is that I don’t want any kid to have to through what I went through. This is was only one day. I went to this school for almost three years. Most of this my family hasn’t heard, my wife has.

14 years old, eight grade. Bullies name: Jared

The day was like any other. I was trying to get to my locker before he saw me. If he saw me it was over, done. I would end up with bruises, which I hid so well not many people knew about the incidents.

It was time for lunch. I walked through the metal doors, leading to the soccer field. There was a room that held the vending machines. Which is where I often bought my lunch, bag of chips and a soda. I was a very skinny kid, weighed around 75 lbs. Stood, maybe 5’3″.

Walking into the vending room I saw a couple of girls, 7th graders run out. The room had doors that led into the school that were locked and only school staff had the keys. The door I walked through had a dead bolt that only school staff could unlock.

I purchased my lunch, turned around and I felt something hit me in the ribs at almost the same time I heard the deadbolt lock. I dropped to the floor. Looking up I saw Jared–I can’t remember his last name–and one other boy. Jared was a lot taller than me, possibly 6 foot. Now I’m not sure, he was just big. He wore jeans, tennis shoes and t-shirts to school every day. He was skinny, like me but he had chip on his shoulder for some reason.

I remember looking up at Jared and the other boy and they just started kicking me. I must have passed out or something, I woke up and the other boy was shaking me. The door was open and Jared was standing in the doorway with a worried look on his face.

I stood up, walked to the doorway. Jared looked at me and said, “hell of a fight Brian.” This wasn’t the worst day.

It took me a long time to get over everything that happened at the school. But it got better. I moved to my mom’s, a lot of that had to do with the bullying, sorry dad. Now I’m married and have two wonderful kids. Bullying has been going on, it is just being noticed now. I thought about suicide a lot when I went to that school, but it gets better, I swear it does.

Brian

This entry was posted in Life, Parenting, Uncategorized, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My bully adventures

  1. susielindau says:

    So much of it has to do with the bully’s lack of self-confidence and insecurity.
    If I had a do-over, I would have disarmed it with humor and laughing with them instead of defending myself. (I was only verbally abused). Bad advice from my mother to blame for that one. However my kids got through it with my advice about humor.
    Some how we survived to tell the tale.

    • BB_Baker says:

      For Jared it had to do with his dad. I remember the first time I saw him and his dad together, it was just before I moved out of my dad’s house. They were walking into the office for something and out of the blue his dad pops him in the back. I knew I had to get out of there after seeing that. I wish I could have used comedy, but this wasn’t the worst incident. We deal with things in our own ways. I closed myself off. Thanks for your comments Susie!

  2. Holy crap. I can’t even imagine how you had the strength to go on after that trauma. What a brave post. My whole body tensed up when I read the line, “I felt something hit me in the ribs at almost the same time I heard the deadbolt lock.”

    Thank you for sharing that. Incredibly helpful to anyone who’s been bullied (or more importantly BEING bullied).

    • BB_Baker says:

      The time spent at that school was something I carry with me every day. The memories are haunting, but they taught me a lesson of perseverance against adversity. The human spirit can over come any obstacle, no matter how much punishment, physical or emotional.

  3. Pingback: How writing saved my life 20 years ago. | The Bleeding Ink Well

  4. Pingback: Book Review: Ender's Game | The Bleeding Inkwell

Leave a Reply

