Army wife, sister and my confidant.


When I think about my childhood there are a few things that stand out. My parents divorce when I was in third grade, staying at my Aunt Cella’s and spending time with my little sister.

My little sister has been in Germany the last few years with her family. Her husband is in the Army and because he is, so is she and their kids. My sister is someone that will give you a hug when she barely knows you, just because she’s like that. We were inseparable for a long time. When my parents got divorced she went with my mom I stayed with my dad, but that bond stayed.

After we moved to Wyoming, my sister became the one person I talked to about things. The person I could trust with anything, and still trust her more than anyone except my wife. My brother-in-law deployed to Iraq twice and Afghanistan once, she was the mom, dad, plumber, and killer of bogeyman.

Next month my sister and her family are moving back to the States, I’m looking forward to our two boys–who are only two months apart–being friends as we were. I’m also looking forward to her youngest being friends with my daughter. My little girl is shy and only has her big brother to play with and she’s very much a  girl. Read here for more. I’m looking forward to the two of them playing dress up, since my son won’t do it, though I’m getting close.

My sister is one of the people I hope my daughter grows up to emulate. She is a wonderful mom, wife, sister, daughter and confidant. She has a laugh and a smile that can brighten any room and I can’t wait to hear her laugh in person.

                                                      Happy Birthday April, I’ll see you soon.

Your big brother, Brian!

This entry was posted in family, Life, writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Army wife, sister and my confidant.

  1. susielindau says:

    Happy birthday April! Great post~

Leave a Reply

