20 Things “They” will say to make you stop chasing your dream


Writing has come with things that I wasn’t ready for. I’m not published, but I have one book done another getting closer.

The biggest challenge is the amount of detractors. People who I thought would be supportive of me or that I believed cared about me, but when I told them I was a writer. Boy, you should have seen how they changed.

        My twenty things people will say to make you feel bad for chasing your dream.

1. You’re not smart enough to do that.

2. You can’t do that (simple, but effective).

3. No one wants to see your art, writing, photographs, performance.

4. You are not my child. (this is one I’ve heard)

5. You don’t actually believe you can do this, do you?

6. You’re not gay are you? (Hear this one too).

7. Do you hate me?

8. You’re not going to write, paint or do things about me are you?

9. Does your mom know?

10. Who do you think you are? Thinking you can do something like that.

11. What do you know about books, art, painting, writing, photography, acting, cameras.

12. Just because (……) did it doesn’t mean you can. (Yes, this was said to me).

13. Do you want to be a bum?

14. Are you going to abandon your wife and kids to chase your dream?

15. Who the hell do you think you are?

16. I’m a better artist than you are.

17. Just because you have a blog doesn’t mean you’re a writer.

18. Nobody cares what you have to say.

19. Do you think anyone is going to support you.

20. You think you’re special, don’t you?

This isn’t a top 20, just the one’s I’ve heard or know someone who has heard them.

This entry was posted in Art, books, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 20 Things “They” will say to make you stop chasing your dream

  1. susielindau says:

    I think people have probably thought some of these things, but luckily I haven’t heard many of them. The one that stands out in my mind was from a publisher a year ago. I originally thought I would write a non-fiction snarky take on life. He said, “Why would anyone care what you have to say? You need to build an audience that does.”
    That’s when I started blogging which was the best thing ever!

    Now when I am thinking about writing a post I always ask myself, “Will anyone care?” That is why I don’t do my daily diary – Row updates, etc…

    His somewhat in my face advice actually helped me.

    BTW – I shelved the non-fiction and am writing a wild paranormal fiction book!
    I guess my coffee cup is always half full!!

    • BB_Baker says:

      That is good advice, something I’ve started to learn about blogging. People only care what you have to say if they can relate, makes an impact on their lives or makes them feel something. Thanks as always for your comments. B

  2. Blake Donald says:

    I can so relate. Right now in my life I’m facing some real monsters from my medical past. As I look back over my life I feel like I have been other people’s puppet instead of living my life and pursuing my dreams according to what God wants to do with the life He has given me. I’m getting past the regrets now and facing the fears I used to run from. I appreciate you sharing this. I once thought of writing a book, but was worried about who I might make mad. I have been on a lot of medications for my condition which have impaired my judgement, but I am slowly weaning myself off of those meds. Once I am clear headed I’d like to pick up where I left off in pursuing my dream. I am currently on disability, but do not want to remain on it. I’m only 37 years old. I know God has many things in store for me, but first He made me face this monster in order to take me to the next chapter. I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t scared of my condition, but I can’t let fear control. We all are going to die someday. We can die now to fear. We have to live our lives to the fullest. I’m trying to surround myself with people who can be a positive influence in my life and give me the guidance to know how to pursue my dreams. I’ve always been used to be another persons puppet and I’m trying to learn how to be my own person. That’s really hard, but with time I can do it. I’m not happy with my current inactive sanitary lifestyle, but I guess it is God’s way of making me STOP and getting my attention to face this monster that I’ve been running from and hiding from. I keep saying I know God has good things in store for me, but I’m not sure how to go about it. Maybe I’m overthinking things. I feel like I go from one extreme to the other. I either want to do it all now on my own, or I want to stop and wait on the Lord, but I feel like I’m waiting too long. I’m not sure where to strike the balance in pursuing my dreams and waiting on the Lord to guide me. Maybe He’s going to send the right people around me to help me truly finally face this fear and ignorance that has left me paralyzed. I don’t know. I have a lot of regrets for not facing this when I was younger and I was chasing a false hope and dream of prosperity on my own, but now I am ready to chase a real hope and prosperity with God and His angels here on Earth.

  3. Blake Donald says:

    Maybe none of what I posted makes sense. I don’t know. I’m just really confused right now at where I am in life. I was pursuing a home based business and it was very successful and then my health started failing. So I don’t know what’s going on. I don’t understand why I’m where I am today. I guess this is God’s way of stripping everything off to make me stop hiding who I am. I guess it’s kind of like military boot camp. The military breaks you down before it builds you up. So I guess I’m going through a spiritual boot camp of sorts. God is taking me back to my beginning and making me face my past before He can take me to the next level. In a strange way this is making me feel better than I ever dreamed.

    When I went on disability I was shocked at how quickly I got approved. That was a REAL reality check. The the doctors put images of my brain in front of me to show me how large the mass inside my brain is and how much space it takes up. I’ve had this mass all my life, but it was stable and causing no issues. I failed to monitor it and be aware of any risks. Now I am facing all of that and with each passing day I feel more liberated and less paralyzed with fear and ignorance.

    Thanks again for sharing this.

    • BB_Baker says:

      I hate to see anyone suffering! Thank you for your comments Blake. My grandma used to say, “Life is what happens to us when God is busy helping other people.” Stripping everything away and making you see yourself is maybe his way of opening your eyes and giving you that push, or a way of saying “you can do it, you never really needed my help. You’ve always known you could do!” Just my thoughts. Take care, and thanks for sharing. B

  4. weelilwimsy says:

    OMG, I’ve heard SO many of those. The one I hear repeatedly is, “how do you expect to make a living on that?” I understand writing is a tough business when it comes to publishing, but ouch! I took it to mean, you’re a lousy writer and will starve because of it 🙂 Oh, how people are wrong…sigh. Follow your dream at any cost, it’s how the great succeed!

    • BB_Baker says:

      Some people just love to trash those who follow their dreams. It’s something I’ve learned along the way. They seem to get a weird enjoyment out of it. Thanks for your comments. B

Leave a Reply

