Ride to 96


We stepped in, I held her hand that morning. I wasn’t sure why, but I did. There were more people in the lift with us, I think maybe four or five. It’s been a few years and I can’t remember. I just remember her.

“Daddy, are we going to see mommy?” She said, her little pigtails pulled so tight it made her blonde hair look shorter than it really was.

“Yes Princess.” I said.

I knew it was one of the upper floors, couldn’t remember which one.

The lift started moving, she held my finger with her little hand. I’m not sure if it was because I was nervous or something else, but her little fingers made me feel more confident.

I watched her look around at the other riders, they were looking through their briefcases or shuffling through papers. One woman was putting makeup on while we rode.

The lift stopped and we got out. I heard  a roar as we got off the lift, I wasn’t sure but it sounded real close. I looked around for the sound, but saw nothing. I could see to the next tower, but there was nothing for a minute.

Then I saw it!

*

To give a bit of history for this short story. I had a bad dream one morning in September. This is the dream I had. This is the first time I’ve ever written it down because it scared me so bad.

This story has haunted me for a long time, longer than I’d like. It was tough to write but I wrote it the way the dream was.

Bri

This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ride to 96

  1. I had to come back and read this again. Moving piece.

Leave a Reply

