15 Things I realized after having kids


In life we are destined to be one of two types of people. Those who do things, and those who watch.

With things about to change in my life I feel like my writing, my kids, my wife and our life together has taken a step in the right direction. It is step away from family and things that we are used to. A change that we have needed for a while. Living in Las Vegas can sometimes get toxic. It is a true “24 hour” city. You can find anything at anytime of day no matter what part of the city you live in. Maybe this is the naïve kid from Utah and Wyoming talking, but this city changes you.

There is a part of it that makes you hate it while loving the other parts of it. Finding things to love for me–now that I don’t drink anymore, can’t afford to go out and am too busy writing to care–are just not very important.

It is true that once you have kids you grow up, at least for most of us. Having kids made me realize a few things.

1.) I’m not that important.

2.) I really love my wife

3.) I can love something more than me

4.) Life is more awesome when you look at it through your kids eyes.

5.) You will believe in something that you never thought possible.

6.) Music is better when you’re dancing with a 2 year old, even if it’s Britney Spears.

7.) Material wealth is not as important as having that first hug from your kids in the morning.

8.) You can listen to a 1 year old scream longer than you believed possible.

9.) Art is different to a kid than to an adult, no matter who the painter is.

10.) Your kids will believe you are any superhero if you buy the right costume.

11.) Partying with your friends isn’t as cool as a movie with your kids.

12.) Having alone time with your wife is important to keep both your sanity’s.

13.) A day at the playground is better than a day at the office.

14.) A video game by yourself isn’t as cool as watching your son do better than you.

15.) Love is unconditional and has no limits to a child. They will love you for who you are and won’t care about your faults or what you did before they were born.

We are leaving Las Vegas for our kids. Not because they want to leave but because the Las Vegas school system has failed our son and we refuse to fail him by staying here. Our daughter is still young and may remember bits and pieces of Las Vegas. It is more important that she gets the start that we couldn’t give our son.  I love my kids more than they will ever understand. I think most parents feel that way.

Life takes its toll on you, but you get through it the best you can. Sometimes you learn from your mistakes and get to meet some really awesome people along the way. Our stop along the way happened to be Las Vegas where we met some people I will forever call my friends.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 15 Things I realized after having kids

  1. Great observations of life – and what’s important.

  2. Your kid will believe you’re any superhero… or anything else, with the right costume. Mine’s learned I’m not only Wonder Woman, the corporate writer that also does children’s books, but also the *real* Dorothy Gale and the Wicked Witch, to boot.

    Neat post!

    • BB_Baker says:

      Thanks for your comments. It’s always wonderful to have new people read the blog. If my son had his way we would run around the house with Transformers costumes all the time.

  3. susielindau says:

    This is such great list! I can relate~mine are 20 and 22!

  4. weelilwimsy says:

    I grew up in LV. It’s a tough place for kids. I love your list. I think every parent can relate!

Leave a Reply

