Music Monday is going to make me broke


“You spend too much money on music.” My wife said to me the other day. She may be right. I can’t help it.

I love music, looove music. All kinds of music. My recent purchases are,

Rodrigo y Gabriela  – Area 52

They are a duo who started in Mexico. Went to Dublin on the encouragement of a friend and the rest is history. If you don’t know them, please follow the link and listen they’re amazing.

Lacuna Coil – Dark Adrenaline

 

They were never one of the bands I cared for until I saw them live. Their new album Dark Adrenaline is their loudest and best effort in a long time. Coil comes across soft on their albums, but the bands they tour with outside the States know them for their hard playing. They are currently touring North America with Motorhead, Megadeath and Volbeat. They are going on tour in South America the end of March with Lamb of God and Hatebreed. If you know any of these bands they’re touring with then you know they are hardcore metal.

Miles Davis – Kind of Blue

There is not much more you can say than that. I’ve wanted to get Miles on vinyl since my wife bought my turntable. Listening to anything on vinyl is an experience. I listen to vinyl when I’m writing at home because the sounds are just amazing and a little known fact about MP3’s, industry-standard MP3 files have only about 5% of all the sounds that were contained in the original recording, which is called a “master.” Which means that we are missing most of the sounds we were intended to hear on the recording.

Lana Del Rey – Born to Die

First, let me say ignore what you saw on SNL, heard or read on the internet. This lady can sing. Sure she has issues, but anyone forced into the spotlight at a young age is going to. I bought her album the other day and haven’t stopped listening to it. There are only a couple of tracks I don’t really care for. The reasons for those dislikes are, the music backing her overpowers her voice, I’m not sure why they did this. The fact remains this lady can sing. The only truth you will find about her is her real name, but look up Lady Gaga on YouTube. Everything is marketing, including Lana, but the difference between her and Gaga. I believe Lana has a better voice.

Tori Amos – Under the Pink

I bought this album for my wife who is a huge Tori fan. I’ve seen Tori live once, I was sold after that show. There is no one I’ve ever seen live make love to a piano like she does. That is the only way I can describe the way she plays. She puts her every breath into playing. That concert is in my top 10 of concerts.

Some of these I’d read about on blogs, Twitter or other social networks thanks to Music Monday, #MM. I’m not saying I don’t like finding new music, I obviously do. I found one I like today thanks to a post for Music Monday here on The Credibility Gap.

I’m always looking for new music, if you find anything send it my way. If my wife says anything, ignore her.

Bri

This entry was posted in Music, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Music Monday is going to make me broke

  1. despite describing myself as a ‘coltrane-kind-of-woman’, i cannot deny how incredible miles davis is. and just for that… i’m going to have to give some of these bands a listen, although i 100% thought that the lana del ray act on snl was a skit. yikes.

    • BB_Baker says:

      After watching the skit I can completely understand why. Out of all these bands, other than Miles. Rodrigo y Gabriela is my favorite. They are one of the most unique bands. My son wants to play like Rodrigo. I love Coltrane, but I don’t have any Coltrane vinyl right now. He is next on my list of vinyl purchases. Thanks for Johnny Flynn. I’m definitely going to purchase something of his.

  2. Try Spotify (from facebook) You don’t need to buy everything anymore unless you REALLY, REALLY like it! 🙂

    • BB_Baker says:

      I’ve had a Spotify account for a while I just don’t really like it. I use Pandora when I’m writing and love it. Thanks for your comments Alan!

Leave a Reply

