That night, music and something new


When he was 2 years old he was bit by a dog. We were worried he would have muscle damage and wouldn’t be able to use his right arm.

I remember that night like it was yesterday.

We had let him stay at my big sisters for the night. It was the first time he would have stayed there. My little sister was in town and he was looking forward to spending time with my both my sisters and their families.

I was at work when the call came. It was a number I didn’t know. My sister had changed her cell number a few times and I didn’t know the current number. I ignored it the first time then it came again and I answered it.

“Bri, ____bit Quinn, and it’s bad.” That was all my sister said. I hung up the phone. Called my boss, left work and went to the hospital. My son’s little arm was torn open on the top and bottom part of his forearm. It was, to that point the worst thing I’d gone through as a parent. He ended up with 5 stitches on the top of his forearm and 4 on the bottom. He screamed the entire time. There wasn’t anything they could give him as a sedative because of his age and this was easily the most traumatic event he has had in his life. The doctor said there was no muscle damage, but there was a part of me that always thought something could go wrong.

My son has always had an interest in music.

He loves Linkin Park and Red Hot Chili Peppers. When he asked if he could play guitar there was a part of me that worried he wouldn’t be able to because of his bite.

On this past Saturday night he played his first guitar recital and nailed it. I don’t get to listen to him practice because I’m at work and when goes to his lessons it’s on a Saturday when I’m also at work. This was the first time I’ve been able to really listen to him play. My first thought was he did it effortlessly. He didn’t even look at his music. He moans when he does have to practice. With how well he did at his recital, if he would practice and not gripe he would be so much better. He loves to play. You can tell the way he holds his guitar the way he talks about playing and how much he enjoys his lessons. I know this is something he is going to do for a long time.

Reached a new point!

It has been a long road this last year with him. Finding out about his ADHD, trying to get his grades up and having to put him on meds has been the hardest.

Saturday night I felt like a parent at his son’s first rock performance.

I am looking forward to more nights like Saturday. Saturday night was the first time in a long time I’ve felt like an accomplished parent with him.

Bri

This entry was posted in Parenting, writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

