Grooving to the outline


In the groove

Finding the groove happens when you least expect it. It can happen when you think the writing suuuucks or it can happen when you just sit down to go over notes and feel compelled to get in a couple hundred words while the other half is doing dishes. Well, that couple hundred turns into 2k or more and the other half is sitting watching TV by themselves. But they know what we do and why we do it so they understand. You’d hope so anyway.

When I sat down to write last night I was in between parts. Big scene and minor scene. I knew what was coming, a major plot point and something that could carry over later into another book. I’ve said that I’ve planned for at least three books for the one series and five or six for the other before I began to merge them. Now that I’m seeing the merge, I can see more.

The worlds I’ve created are massive and the only limit is to what I can imagine, so no limit.

My Outline saved me

The story last night took a turn that was not in the outline and I’m not sure what to do about it. I will probably let it play out to see what happens. I know I’m looking forward to having this draft done and when I do I will take my two weeks off from it and read, finish a couple short stories and that will be about the time the family heads off for Disneyland, which is going to be fun since our daughter has never been and our son hasn’t been since he was four (he’ll be 8 this time).

I’m glad I did an outline for this one. Last time I didn’t do an outline and felt lost about halfway through. I hate that feeling. It’s like I’m feeling around in the dark for the characters and their yelling but they have muzzles on.

I have to thank my friend for telling me I must write an outline for every book. It was her that told me, “without it you’re just making it up and hoping it turns out. With it you have a plan.” Plans work better. When I don’t the book is horrible and it comes across as put together poorly. An outline makes everything feel together.

I wish I’d listened to a lot of the books that said to use an outline, it would have saved me a lot of time and frustrating nights of rewrites for horribly writing that will never be published. I guess that is how we learn.

I know without the help of books and writers I love I would not be writing. My favorite author’s book comes out tomorrow. My wife is getting it for me for Valentine’s Day.

Thank You Anne Rice for making me write.

I will have a review up after I’m done. If this book is like any of Anne’s other books I “should” have it up next week.

Bri

This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Grooving to the outline

  1. (If the outline is like a story’s skeleton, shouldn’t it be called an inline?) Always good to have a road map – even if there’s a detour now and then…gives direction. GOod post

    • BB_Baker says:

      Thanks Philosopher. Detours take us to places in the story we didn’t know existed, and sometimes those are the most beautiful places.

Leave a Reply

