My love and respect of Anne Rice and her writing


I love Anne Rice.

I’ve read all the vampire chronicles, the Mayfair books and her other books (except the Christ the Lord series). There are certain artists I want physical copies of. I am a huge Nine Inch Nails fan and I have every one of their albums as a physical copy, some of them I have collector’s editions.

Anne Rice is a writer that I will not buy a digital copy of. I must have the physical copy of the book. I have all her books in hard cover, one autographed.

I have been a fan of Anne’s since 1994. I read Interview with the Vampire just before the movie came out and I’ve read all the books in the series since then. I’ve loved vampires since I was a little kid and I think that’s why the first book I wrote was a vampire book. It sits on a shelf, unpublished staring at me. I know with Twilight there are more vampire books out there than any other category. Most of them are bad.

My reason for writing a vampire book had nothing to do with the current book market. It is not a Y/A vampire book, here is what would have been the opening or prologue. It has vampires that act like vampires.

I learned from Anne Rice, Bram Stoker and Richard Matheson about vampires. Setting and description of the environment are the key to a good story. Anne Rice is one of the masters of description. I guess writing about vampires was something I knew about more than anything else, probably know the myths and legends better than anyone. That’s why I wrote it.

Writing has always been a way to get my feelings about life and how I perceive it across. In the vampire book that came across well, at least that’s what those who read it said. It may still see the light of day. I still love the characters in the story, especially the MC and one of the other characters.

The book was my first time, and like every first time I learned a lot about myself and how I interpret things. The book for as much as I love the characters is different from any book out there.

As Anne Rice has said in interviews about her books, “It’s not really about vampires, it’s about us.”

Now that Anne has written a book that is more along the lines of the Mayfair Witches and the Vampire Chronicles I am back in the world that I loved nearly twenty years ago. I saw that there’s going to be a “Tale of the Body Thief” movie, it was one of my favorites of the Chronicles. I am looking forward to seeing it, and I’m hoping it is more like Interview with the Vampire than Queen of the Damned.

And to Anne Rice who is on tour for “The Wolf Gift”, thank you for making me the writer I am today.

Bri

What author or artist do you have the most respect for?

This entry was posted in Anne Rice, books, writer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My love and respect of Anne Rice and her writing

  1. Joy says:

    I loved her chronicles, too. I’ve never read any of her other works, heard for a while that her writing became very religious, then forgot about anne Rice. I need to read her again. What do I start with?

    • BB_Baker says:

      If you haven’t read the Life of the Mayfair Witches, I would start with The Witching Hour, it took me a few times to get through it. At about page 150 is when it turned a corner and it is one of my favorites. After Witching Hour, Lasher then Taltos. For the Chronicles, Interview, Vampire Lestat, Queen of the Damned (much better than the movie), Tale of the body Thief, Memnoch the Devil (a fan favorite), The Vampire Armand (my least favorite) Merrick, Blood and Gold (one of my favorites), Blackwood Farm and Blood Canticle. There are a few books which have characters are from the Chronicles, but are there own. Anne called them new tales of the vampire. They are: Pandora and Vittorio the Vampire. There are also other books that Anne wrote, Cry to Heaven (loved it) The Mummy (loved this one also and would love a movie of it), Servant of the Bones (this is my favorite of Anne’s books that are not Mayfair or Chronicles, love the MC). I know it’s a big list but I love her writing there are more here.

Leave a Reply

