Anne Rice shared my book review


A funny thing happened to me on the way to reality. My review of Anne Rice’s “The Wolf Gift” was posted by Anne Rice on her FB page and Twitter feed.

I’ve had my posts shared by others. Last year the post I did for my son’s first Linkin Park concert was on a Linkin Park fansite.

How I found out

I happened to be home on Sunday. Normally I would be at work but I had a migraine and I had to stay home.

I happened to wake up from my migraine and checked Anne Rice’s FB page to see how the new book was doing. I’d read it and knew it was great and was hoping more people had shared their thoughts of the book. I saw Anne posted about being worn out from her recent book tour.

I saw she linked an article in the post for a review. I looked at the URL and it was to my blog.

That was the point the fanboy came out and I kind of lost it. I called my wife to the computer, showed her and she thought it was the coolest thing, just like I did.

Humbled and honored

To be recognized by Anne Rice, who is my idol when it comes to writing and much more is something that I never thought I would come close to. I thought it would be cool to meet her one day and have her sign one of the books I have, I have all the Chronicles in hardcover and a few of the witch books in hardcover, but I have all of the books. I named my son after one of her characters, Tarquin from Blackwood Farm.

To be mentioned by Anne Rice is one of the most humbling things that’s ever happened to me. I feel blessed (not a word I used often) to be able to write the blog and write everyday. For her to mention me makes me want to write even more.

To Anne: You’ve made me the happiest unpublished author.

Brian

This entry was posted in Anne Rice, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Anne Rice shared my book review

  1. susielindau says:

    How cool is that! I hope your stats went up!
    I wrote about how I ran into Louie Vito and he retweeted my post. I still get views from that!
    Congratulations!

    • BB_Baker says:

      My stats went through the roof. I couldn’t believe it. Yesterday was a very good day. Nothing gives me confidence like that. Thanks Susie!

  2. Joy says:

    That just freaking rocks, man! Congratulations to you!!!!

  3. Cool beyond words! Did you take a screen shot and print and frame it? Just outstanding!

  4. vicki says:

    Very Cool! Keep at it — I love your bleeding inkwell đŸ™‚

  5. John says:

    B,

    That’s awesome! Congrats! Very happy for you!

Leave a Reply

