How many writing tools can one person have?


“Following your heart isn’t the way to go.”

I remember hearing those words before. It’s been a long time, but I’ve grown past the words and now I follow my heart and write. I see things differently than I did those fifteen years ago. I’m older and have kids of my own, but the words are something I think about every time I get stuck on writing.

Your heart is where your soul is. Getting to that part of your brain where you absolutely love what you’re doing. I don’t love my day job, but I love writing and bartending lets me do my night job, writing.

My writing gear:

When I write I usually have had some type of caffeinated beverage, coffee, tea or Cherry Coke. I know soda isn’t good for me, but the caffeine keeps me awake long enough to get the words I want on the page. The second thing I have with me is my outline, since I use Scrivener for writing I always have it on my desktop waiting for use. Third I have a copy of Anatomy of Story by John Truby. My cousin gave me this book and I use it when ever I get a new story idea, awesome book.

There are two more things that I always have, a copy of  Elements of Style and a supply of chocolate covered pretzels.

Elements of style is because I’m very aware of my grammar and punctuation issues. My wife’s day job consists of checking grammar and spelling in software and she gets me bad with my grammar, but she lets it go a lot on the blog. With the books, she’s absolutely harsh sometimes. It’s okay, I know it all helps in the end.

The chocolate covered pretzels is because I frigging love them. The M&M’s Pretzels are awesome to the point I wish they wouldn’t have made them.

I have a laptop, but I’ve used my desktop lately because the battery is on the fritz and may need a new laptop soon. I may get the laptop for my birthday, but probably not with the move coming up.

I forgot to add my pens, notebooks, stickies and journals to this list. During the day I carry a small Moleskine and my Cross pen, but don’t we all carry a pen and writing utensil?

I usually have those out too. I’ve written entire chapters off of those notes. I also love Evernote, it’s saved me when I don’t have pen and paper.

These are the tools I have, but I’m finding new ones often, like Pinterest. I really am hooked on Pinterest

What are your writer tools? Answer in the comments.

This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How many writing tools can one person have?

  1. susielindau says:

    My coffee mug, computer, pen and notebook….Pretty basic!

  2. treadmill, and sometimes a nap will help things thoughts get organized…but I write in my sleep.

Leave a Reply

