Why is Elmo so important?


Picture from Wikipedia

When I was little I watched a lot of Sesame Street. More than is supposedly healthy. We don’t have cable in our house, but my daughter watches it on our iPad via Netflix.

Like every kid of the past twenty years my daughter loves Elmo. We recently watched the movie “Being Elmo” about Kevin Clash the voice behind the little red guy.

I wanted to see the movie when it was in theaters but it showed only briefly in Las Vegas and I wasn’t able to.

The movie follows Kevin’s journey from making puppets at age 10 to meeting Jim Henson and being on Sesame Street. For those that don’t know who Elmo is (is there anyone?) he’s an eternal four-year old. He is the reason behind “Tickle Me Elmo” and other toys. My daughter got the newest Elmo, “Lets Rock Elmo.”

My introduction to the Muppets

I’ve always been a fan of the Muppets and Jim Henson. I remember the first Kermit I got and how much I loved playing with him. I also remember all the movies, Great Muppet Caper is my favorite then The Muppet Movie, The Muppets (the new one) and Muppets take Manhattan. I didn’t care for the Muppet Christmas Carol or any of them since Jim Henson passed away, except the new one.

Muppets have always been a part of my childhood, from the movies with the Muppets to the Jim Henson’s other movies, The Dark Crystal and Labyrinth. I loved both of these movies. They are more for older kids than the Muppets but I still loved them. The Dark Crystal was my first introduction, that I can remember, to fantasy stories.

Kids love Elmo for a reason, love

Being Elmo is not really about Kevin or Elmo, it’s about the love a child feels for these creations. You can see it when a kid watches Elmo on Sesame Street. I can see it when I do my Elmo voice for my daughter. I’m not that good at it, but she thinks I am. I remember the Muppets and the Muppet Show because of the way I felt after watching it. I felt the same way after watching Sesame Street.

Elmo tells kids that love is important. He gives hugs to kids that are sick. He loves everyone, and he makes sure kids know that.

Children love things for no other reason than they make them smile. That is why kids love Elmo so much, he makes them smile.

As adults we could learn a lot from watching Elmo.

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why is Elmo so important?

  1. Hugs and smiles for everyone!

Leave a Reply

