Why your dream state is worth listening to


Dreams have a way of working their way in.

My dreams are sometimes vivid, surreal and many times like a Salvador Dali painting. When I wake from these dreams I stare at the blackness around me, waiting for something to jump out and say, “you’re still dreaming!”

It is these dreams and ones like them that make every late night worth every pot of coffee of cup or tea the next day. If it were not for these dreams I would not come up with some of these stories.

Craziest of all are the dreams where things happen that are like a normal day, but at the end of the dream I see a glimpse of something dark. It could be something in the look of a table, a chair or someone in the dream. Not all my writing is dark, but a lot of it is.

I’ve found the darkest dreams happen after the best days. I think it’s my subconscious telling me something.

Subconscious awake?

When we sleep our mind is trying to place things. It’s trying to organize the day’s event so that we can interpret them so they make sense.

The conscious mind may be compared to a fountain playing in the sun and falling back into the great subterranean pool of subconscious from which it rises. -Sigmund Freud.

I’ve read enough of philosophy, Freud and others including H.P. Lovecraft, to know that our mind can be a hazardous place for happy thoughts.

Our subconscious is the place where we see our innermost thoughts played out. We’ll dream about grandparents that have passed on, our children, past events, and sometimes future events. Edgar Cayce says this about the latter, – Dreams are today’s answers to tomorrow’s questions.

Following your dreams


Trying to follow your dreams is often hard. But the important part is that you do. There are many things about wants, desires and dreams that make us who we are. At the end of the day these things are the sum of all we have done in our lives.

I remember the first time I had a flying dream. I woke up and stared at the wall for a few minutes. The dream was so real. I felt the wind in my face, I smelt the ocean, though I’d lived in Utah at the time.

That dream and the surreal ones like it are why I dream. I want to sleep and be taken away from everything.

In my dreams I’m published and doing well. Those are the dreams that I like.

The darker dreams are where I get my stories from. They are where my creativity comes from, rarely do my good dreams find their way into my writing.

Do you listen to your dreams? Why or why not? Answer in the comments.

This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Why your dream state is worth listening to

  1. susielindau says:

    I wish I could always remember them…I have been trying to recall mine from last night! I would love to fly again!

  2. Nona says:

    Dreams, when remembered, often serve as some spectacular fodder for building a novel. Like you, my fantasy saga sprouted from a rather vivid dream…. Of course it has changed and altered over time, but I will always remember with fondness the dream that started it all!

    • BB_Baker says:

      Dreams are sometimes so vivid they can be frightening. But it’s in those frightening moments we can find ourselves, and our stories. Thanks for your comments Nona!

Leave a Reply

