What I learned after 36 years of life


Since Monday was my birthday and I received a lot of birthday wishes from people on Facebook, texts from family members and felt a lot of love and good wishes sent my way I thought I would comment on what I learned from the past 36 years. Here are 20 things I’ve learned after 36 years of life.

1. Always buy a girl flowers. No matter the occasion. There really doesn’t need to be one. My wife loves white roses.

2. Never say anything derogatory about a girl’s weight. This one took me a while but I had it in my head before I was a teenager.

3. Always say you’re sorry first. No matter what the fight was about. It will make things better later.

4. Always say I love you and make sure you say with meaning. This is something that everyone should do. You never know when it will be the last time you talked to someone.

5. Read to your kids. My parents didn’t do this and my wife and I make a point of doing it every night. My son’s first book was The Hobbit and we’ve read others since then. My daughter’s first was The Secret Garden.

7. Hugs are one of the most meaningful things we can offer another person. It doesn’t matter who the person is, a hug is like magic.

8. Sometimes you will have to go it on your own. It’s not because people don’t love you, there’s just some things you have to do alone.

9. Your children will love you and they are the best thing in the world. Never let anyone tell you differently.

10. You will have times you don’t trust yourself. Those times are your reflection times. You must use it. If you don’t you never know when it will come around again.

11. Writing is better than sex, chocolate, alcohol or drugs. Writing makes me feel like who I was supposed to be, I only wish I’d taken it more seriously when I was younger.

12. You will have times you doubt your writing. It’s normal and push past it. Your writing will get better because of it.

13. You will consume more coffee at times than should be healthy. Being jacked up on caffeine is the best way to get the creative juices flowing.

14. Music is almost as important as reading. The right music can pull you out of any writing funk or any other funk in life.

15.Books are the most important writing tool. Read, and read some more.

16. My mom was right about more than I’m willing to admit. This needs no explanation.

17. Trust your friends, sometimes they know you better and will support you better than anyone else.

18. My wife is the person I trust the most of anyone. She knows when my writing isn’t going good and helps me with ideas to break through it.

19. Having a good juice machine can save your sanity.

20. Having a spiritual practice saved my life. Without my Buddhist teachings I’m not sure I would be alive today.

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What I learned after 36 years of life

  1. susielindau says:

    Happy Belated Birthday!

  2. Nona says:

    Spot on. I need to print out this list and laminate it for posting above my writing desk. 🙂 A great source of inspiration/suggestion to others in my household.
    Since I will be gracing the number 40 in May, it’s good to have a confirmation of sorts that we do learn things as we grow older.

Leave a Reply

