Moving On Up


When I started this blog I wondered where it would go. For a long time it was stagnant and I wondered why I started it in the first place. My posts weren’t getting any comments. There was nothing about my blog that attracted any interest, least of all me.

I found myself wondering if I started it for the right reasons. I discovered I hadn’t.

I started writing the blog because my cousin–a published author–had one and I thought it would be a good idea since I wanted to be published too. Having a published book is something I’ve wanted since middle school.

Now that I’m twenty years past middle school I’m nearly where I want to be. I’m married, have two kids, an old dog, one novel finished and another nearly finished.

For the past six months something in me has changed. I don’t know what to call it except confidence. This confidence came out of nowhere and those that have followed the blog for a long time may see the difference in my writing.

I no longer worry about what I write on here, I only care that I write something. Someone on Facebook said, “I really don’t know how you do it most days.” I replied,  “I do it because I must. No one will write my books for me. I do it because I want it bad enough to keep trying!”

I write now because no one will write my books for me, no one will write the blog for me. I write because I want it bad enough to keep trying. That is why the blog is changing, that’s why I’m moving out of Las Vegas and that’s why I stare at a computer screen for 3 hours after my kids and wife go to sleep. I do it because I have to. I wake up wanting to write. But because of my day job I can’t sit home and write all day.

Now that I’ve changed it’s time for other changes. The blog is changing in a big way.

The blog’s new address is http://www.brianbbaker.com. It looks just like the old blog, with a change to the title. I’ve already set it up to forward any clicks to the new blog. I think I’ve lost all my subscribers though.

If you could, click subscribe before you leave the site. I never ask for this, but I want to keep track of everyone of you. I consider you my friends and without your support I’m not sure I’d have this new confidence

This entry was posted in writing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Moving On Up

  1. Subhakar Das says:

    I no longer worry about what I write on here, I only care that I write something – the reason I blog, and you said it word perfect.

Leave a Reply

